In Nov 2011, i appeared for 2nd group.
But this time also i.e. 2nd time ISCA proved as threat for me.
And I loose my group.
CA Mohit Garg
(CS Student)
(213 Points)
Replied 22 January 2012
In Nov 2011, i appeared for 2nd group.
But this time also i.e. 2nd time ISCA proved as threat for me.
And I loose my group.
Laxman Mathariya
(Mgr)
(32 Points)
Replied 23 January 2012
Mansi Chhabra
(Article)
(25 Points)
Replied 23 January 2012
@ Ankur, plz tell from where to get these latest ammendments of DT, as i vl be studyng from old books that i used for nov 2011...so how to add on these lastest ammendments,do i have to buy the whole set of books again....
CA Suraj Lakhotia
(IndigoLearn)
(4898 Points)
Replied 24 January 2012
You dont have to buy the books again. ICAI publishes the amendments as a supplementary material. That is generally enough for preparation. Also you can contact your juniors and take copies of summary of amendments from text books they are using.
vignesh
(steps towards my goals)
(381 Points)
Replied 24 January 2012
vignesh
(steps towards my goals)
(381 Points)
Replied 24 January 2012
CA Suraj Lakhotia
(IndigoLearn)
(4898 Points)
Replied 25 January 2012
Vignesh,
More than the books it will be the way of preparation and approach which will help you score marks. There are plenty of good books available for Direct Taxation - be it Singhania, Girish Ahuja, Manoharan and many more.
Each one would have refered a different book and scored good marks. The issue to be addressed is conceptual clarity and practise.
Bikash
(Accounts Manager)
(67 Points)
Replied 25 January 2012
Hi Mansi
U can have the latest case studies available on ICAI's site, which are relevant for may 2012 Exams. These case studies are sufficient and i dnt think u need to follow other bookd for case laws.
ALL THE BEST.
Originally posted by : CA Suraj Lakhotia | ||
![]() |
Vignesh, More than the books it will be the way of preparation and approach which will help you score marks. There are plenty of good books available for Direct Taxation - be it Singhania, Girish Ahuja, Manoharan and many more. Each one would have refered a different book and scored good marks. The issue to be addressed is conceptual clarity and practise. |
![]() |
Hi Suraj could u give an Example with an instance.how conceptual clarrity can be achieved in subject like DT.
I mean in my case i ve always strived for conceptual clarrity in subjects like accounts cost & FM..But Taxation i dint ve proper guidance ,this subject was more like cramming rules from Ca inter stage...& so it is nw @ finals..
After tat i never got proper exposure from articleship in this area & also i never took it seriuosly...
Shall i revert back to pcc books and ve study from base again...I don mind dropping an attempt..
My confidence is very low in this subject.
Pls Guide..
CA Suraj Lakhotia
(IndigoLearn)
(4898 Points)
Replied 25 January 2012
Personally i feel it may not be possible to adopt cramming approach for a subject like Direct Taxation. Yes there are some rules/portions which one may have to learn by rote but for rest it would be a better approach to understand things logically and conceptually -
For instance section 43B provides for disallowances. It may be possible to learn this by heart. I adopted the approach of understanding the underlying logic - the section talks about payment of statutory dues, dues to employees welfare fund etc. The reason being statute wants to protect interest of revenue and employees. This was my way of understanding the section.
For section on additional depreciation, it is to promote manufacturing and boost investment.
One you understand the logic, there is no need to memorise it. It sets in your memory automatically.
For some sections like those pertaining to quantum penalties, are to be learnt by heart. I never attempted reading things by heart because i could not retain the memorised figures for long. So I had simply skipped memorising these topics where learning by rote was required. I just went through the chapter once to understand what it talked about (Dont take it as a suggestion to skip some chapter, If you can remember, its always better)
This was my approach for PEII (94) and Final (70). I hardly quoted any sections (again it is not a suggestion not to rememer sections. Refer my experience here). If you can remember sections it is icing on the cake.. But for me this was painful to learn sections and sub- sections. I remembered only those which i could remember out of practise or which i came across in articleship.
For those who still feel, taxation is troubling, you may attend a good coaching class.
Mode of preparation may differ from person to person. Others may please share their views..
CA.Niranjan Basarkar
(--)
(85 Points)
Replied 25 January 2012
@ fianlist
do buy 2 books from insti today itself (ICAI publication ka-kisi aur ke nahi)
1.recent cases (DT+IDT)
2.recent amendments (DT+IDT)
and read these two books half hr everyday in morning (considering ur article-ship-1 hr study is enough for these 2 subjects initially-u will end up reading these 2 books for atleast 4-5 times in a month)
these 2 books will cover almost 30-35 marks each paper,this strategy prooved really well for me n i scored 64 n 69 in DT n IDT
n later in ur leave concentrate on Foreign taxation,assessment procedures,PGBP n Cap gains,i bet u r through with DT with minimum 50-55 marks
:-)
CA Bhanwar Borana
(Partner )
(402 Points)
Replied 29 January 2012