Dt-ca final a biggest threat for me from becoming a ca??

Final 3107 views 27 replies

I ve Cleared my Group 1 this Attempt in nov 2011.Now the biggest Challenge for me is Clearing Group 2,I havent started with anything preparation  Except some part of costing.I am sure enough manage Costing and ISCA,& obviously targeting these 2 subjects will be my strategy.even scoring passing marks in IDT would not be a deal..DT paper is a nightmare for me..I really dont wanna get bogged down by knowledge or practical aspect or anything cos i don intend to do anything in life in DT...I ve very less time of 3 months left for Exam,

Now a lot of things are running through my mind

1)Am undergoing articleship currently ,managing studies is very difficult.

2) i may get 2 months of leave if i convince my principal

3)How should i prepare for DT in minimum time keeping in mind tat ,i ve 0 practical exposure in this subject.

4) i really don want to be over confident or loose out from here...cos of these 4 papers 

I ve serious career plans in Finance....But DT is an hurdle to get the CA degree....

All guidance From peers ,Senior members,Freinds considering my context is invited.

I just needsome value Added or smart Advices to get through this subject.

i ve no idea where to start from ,stop or end....just tat 40 marks in this subject with a minimum time strategy is required.

Regards.

Replies (27)
Hey DT is not that much tough as u are thinking yaar........... i got 77 in DT nov 11..... do these things:- Refer Vinod Gupta sir's referencer books Practice manual of ICAI Case studies issued by ICAI Thats it!!!

@ CA Ankur Jain , 

Thanks a lot for Reply.But pls Reply considering my context..There are some areas where some people lapse,I lapse a lot in this area...i understand its an easy subject for u ,perhaps cos u love subject or u ve got a better exposure...

Just consider my context

Pls i would appreciate if u could advice me on some smart way of passing this Exam..whenever i asked my freinds   who r good at it they ,just case laws and recent amendments u r through but to study these a back ground is required...

I get pissed off to open a DT book...pls understand its not my cup of tea.

hi dude....i m bit disappointed u just want to score 40 in DT.....in ca u cant plan for such things even for a pass like 40 u hav to work all the way and the same way some one scores 60 or 70...my point is take it as importantly as all others.....just revise it more frequentlyyyyy......refer vinod gupta modules........this covers majority topics......for remaing go with pahuka or manoharan.....but for a voluminous DT going for padhuka is better.......but CASES are very imp u need to ensure that u get them done thoroughly before u enter exam hall as same for IDT.

@ CA FINALIST

Actually DT is a kind of subject in which u can't decide some topics which you expect to have in exam BUT yeah we should have a calculated and smart study if we dnt have proper time(as you said)

Plan your study with the topics with which you hav lil bit comfort like PGBP, CAP GAINS etc

and pick the topics like appeal, penalty at last time if you have sufficient time with you

MOST IMPortantly have a thorough study of Case's issued by ICAI and Recent Amendment's

All the very BEST to you my dear

hi Ankur,

can u pls share the secret of answering the case studies in xam ?

@ tanishka

Thr is no secret kind of thing yaar

just try to keep the conclusion of case in your mind rest facts to question me icai bta hi deta hai

nd yah if you exactly remember case name then its better to write..!!!

Hi Ankur Jain

I just read your conversation above.As you mentioned we need to study ICAI case studies, can you tell from where to get them and dwhen will they be available.

Mansi

@ ca finalist i request you to please attend crash batch of ca mehul sir at ahmedabad, he will completely guide you and you will secure sufficient mark with practical applicability... And refer only those books which are recommended by icai.. @ mansi you can get it from icai free of charge as it available in ahmedabad around in the month in which exam forms are available...
Thanks.But can anybody help me in ISCA Ido not know how to proceed how much time to devote daily and whether to just mug up etc thanks in advance

@ Mansi

Select Cases in Direct and Indirect Tax Laws

@ bp.....

sorry to say this.....just mug up......bcoz ur ca exam is diferrent and ur post ca life is different.....study in icai material.....u can do wonders if u can do it.....i mean mug up means that definition part and precise part where u need to write near to icai terminology...so many fail due to lack of this....all the bestyes

DT? I agree. DT literally screwed my result. :(

Select case laws are published by ICAI before each attempt. Refer that for the exams. 

You would have learnt most of the basic concepts during IPCC. It is just that the preparation must be of advanced level. 

Start early and by the May you must be ready for exams. A daily dose of 2 hrs would help those who consider DT as a nightmare. Start with easier topics and then once you are in flow take up the difficult ones. Cover Wealth Tax properly. 

Hi Friends i score 76 in DT only tahnx to Vinod Gupta Book..i read 3 times.., latest case law is very omportant...my roll no 183809