CA Versus CS

romin (---) (24 Points)
Replied 22 March 2011

If we discussed on the above topic there is no end of the discussion. But let me clarify one thing every profession in this world has its own importance. we cant say that this profession is good and this is professsion has less value as compare to other.

if we talk of the role of cs it has much wider role and its not only restricted to companies act, 

he can advice on various acts such as sebi, labour laws, FEMA, GeNERAL and commercial laws, IPR, and he  also  acquires good drafting skills whcih should also taken into account.

To pass the Cs i considered For CA people its easy but to become a good CS its too difficult for them.

And find in practicale life its a Knowledge thats only matters and not only the degree you possess because people will give money to you not on the basis of your degree but on the basis of your work.

CA Ravi Sisodia (CA,CS,CMA) (32226 Points)
Replied 22 March 2011

CA and CS both good courses in their fields so dont compair among courses.

naveennpurohit@gmail.com (naveennpurohit@gmail.com)   (21 Points)
Replied 22 March 2011

Originally posted by : SANTOSH SHAH

I agree with you that CA & CS are both equal. The only thing matters is the delivering the professional performance and getting valuable for the company.

Originally posted by : kumar

I am told that in INDIA total number of registered members of ICSI are just around 25 thousand , while in ICAI the number of CA is above one lakh 60 thousand                       !!!

Is it correct ?

If it is correct, then why CS are less paid than CA ?

Hi Kumar,

Agree with above members, as CS was in 1982 & CA in 1949, so

there is gap of 33yrs.

Both CA & CS are professional courses and have respective demand.

There are 9 lac companies and only apprx 25 to 28 thousand CS

So CS is statutory requirement, so demand is there - no doubt.

Coming to payments, Even CS are paid better.

What matters is the level of knowlegde, skill, and other factors.

Focus on acquiring knowledge,  if there is strong knowledge,

money will come its way. It doesnt matter whether it is CA or CS,

After all its degree only and you have to apply your knowledge of

CA or CS when it comes to practicle life.

All the best.

Any other views welcome.

Santosh Shah

Aditya20 (na) (113 Points)
Replied 22 March 2011

Originally posted by : CA Rahul
The difference between CA and CS is hell and heaven. To know more about CA vs CS  asked from the person who have completed CA and CS both. I have cleared CA and CS both so I know in better prospect. I scored rank in CS final without any good preparation (just go through with last 5 year papers). Also, the single CS can handle complaiance related work for whole indutry but its totally opposite with CA. 

DUDE THIS IS ALL ABOUT DEMAND AND SUPPLY TODAY ICSI IS GETTING PRESSURE FROM CORPORATE SECTOR THATS Y PASSING THE CANDIDATE AND PLEASE DON,T PASS WRONG MESSAGE. I SOME TIME FEELS WHAT THE CA STUDENT THINK OF THEMSELVES IF THE ICAI DECLARES THE 30 PERCENT RESULT THEN IT IS THE DEMAND OF THE INDUSTRY AND IF ICSI DECLARES THE SAME PERCENTAGE OF RESULT THEN IT IS EASY TO PASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THIS IS NOTHING BUT THE DIFFERENCE IN VISION AND THINKING.
IN ORDER TO JST PROVE I HAVE ALSO JOINED THE CA.

AND BEING A PROFESSIONAL MAINTAIN THE PROFESSIONALISM

CS de2pak (CS M.COM n CA FINAL..!!!!!!)   (87 Points)
Replied 22 March 2011

kya fark padta h apun toh dono kar rhe h.

kumar (accountant) (118 Points)
Replied 22 March 2011

Originally posted by : de2pak

Have you ever seen any student of engineering studying B.TECH and BCA simultaneously ?

or have you ever seen any MBBS student studying B.sc  simultaneously ??

NO ?

Then it is your insecurity / complex which is forcing you to study for two or more courses simultaneously .

It is a good type of career insurance but ...............

WHEN ONE COURSE IS SUFFICIENT TO ENTER CORPORATE WORLD , THEN IT IS NOTHING BUT YOUR INSECURITY COMPLEX TO STUDY TWO COURSES SIMULTANEOUSLY.

JACK OF ALL TRADES IS MASTER OF NONE.

BETWEEN TWO STOOLS, ONE ALWAYS COMES TO THE GROUND.

EK SAADHE SAB SADHE, SAB SAADHE SAB JAYE.

Replied 23 March 2011

Originally posted by : SANTOSH SHAH

Hi Kumar,

Agree with above members, as CS was in 1982 & CA in 1949, so

there is gap of 33yrs.

Both CA & CS are professional courses and have respective demand.

There are 9 lac companies and only apprx 25 to 28 thousand CS

So CS is statutory requirement, so demand is there - no doubt.

Coming to payments, Even CS are paid better.

What matters is the level of knowlegde, skill, and other factors.

Focus on acquiring knowledge,  if there is strong knowledge,

money will come its way. It doesnt matter whether it is CA or CS,

After all its degree only and you have to apply your knowledge of

CA or CS when it comes to practicle life.

All the best.

Any other views welcome.

Santosh Shah

THANK YOU SIR

Rahul Gupta (CS,M.COM, CA FINAL) (252 Points)
Replied 23 March 2011

WITH RESPECT TO ALL COMMENTS HERE ABOVE  AND BOTH INSTITUTES  I WOULD LIKE TO TELL ABOUT CA AND CS COURSE. I AM A QUALIFIED COMPANY SECRETARY AND PURSUING CA FINAL

1- EXAM LEVEL - BOTH COURSES HAVE A BIG DIFFERENCE IN STUDY LEVEL.. TODAY QUALIFYING OF A CS INTERMEDIATE AND FINAL IS PASSING LIKE  A NORMAL UNIVERSITY EXAM.

WHERE AS IN CA NOW PASSING IS BECOMING HARDER AND HARDER

I SEE MANY STUDENTS OF CA FINAL WHO HAVE NOT CLEARED THEIR CA FINAL OR INTERMEDIATE FOR MANY ATTEMPTS BUT THEY PASSED IN CS FINAL AND CS INTER IN JUST SHORT TIME AND SCORED VERY GOOD MARKS IN ONE OR TWO ATTEMPTS.

2- COURSE-   BOTH HAVE SAME QUATITY OF CORSE. BUT IN CS THERE ARE VERY STRAIGHT AND   SIMPLE QOESTIONS  AND IN CA THEY  ASK QUESTION IN A PRACTICAL ASPECT. SO QUANTITY OF COURSE BECOMES IRRELEVANT SEEING PATTERNS OF CS  EXAM.

3- SCOPE- SCOPE IS DEPENDENT INDIVIDUALLY. BOTH ARE PROFESSIONAL COURSES AND YOU CAN UPLIFT IT BY USING YOUR KNOWLEDGE AND SKILLS.

BOTH INSTITUTES HAVE A BIG GAP BETWEEN IN THEIR BIRTH. SO THERE IS OBVIOUS  DIFFERENCE OF NUMBER OF MEMBERS.

EARLIER IN OUR TIME CS RESULT WAS NOT SO HIGH .BUT CS INSITUTE SHOULD  NOT PASS THE STUDENTS LIKE THIS MANNER AS IT IS   DOING NOW - A- DAYS BECAUSE IT CAN HARMFUL TO ITS IMAGE.

AFTER ALL I WANT TO SAY ATLAST IT IS UP TO YOU  HOW YON CAN DEVELOPE   YOURSELF. CS INSITUTE MAKES YOU A 50% FINISHED GOODS AND CA INSITITUTE MAKES    YOU 100% FINISHED GOODS. NOW YOU HAVE TO INCREASE OR MAINTAIN YOUR LEVEL.

Replied 23 March 2011

NO BODY has bothered to reply my question -

How many registered CS are there in INDIA with ICSI ?

Joey Tribbiani (fdg) (2010 Points)
Replied 23 March 2011

NO BODY has bothered to reply my question -

How many registered CS are there in INDIA with ICSI ?

HAHAHA,lol.:) Bhai this is the tragedy nowadays on CCI,people are more into fighting with each other rather than concentrate on the topic. As for ur question,your statistics are correct, there are around 25000 CS in India at present and above 150000 CAs in india. Check out the following links for ur ans

pg 112 in report below

https://220.227.161.86/22170AnnualReport09-10-61st.pdf 

pg 66 in report below

https://www.icsi.edu/WebModules/AboutUs/Annual%20Report%202009-10.pdf

And people stop fighting. PEACE

Joey Tribbiani (fdg) (2010 Points)
Replied 23 March 2011

Number of members as on 31 march 2010

ICAI- 161516

ICSI- 25415

Some confusion in CS numbers,I think they are 21839 as around 3576 which are CP(certificate of practise) holders might be ACS or FCS both of whom are already included in 21839,If i m interpreting it  correctly..

CHAITANYA (C.A.; C.S.) (90 Points)
Replied 23 March 2011

Originally posted by : de2pak

Have you ever seen any student of engineering studying B.TECH and BCA simultaneously ?

or have you ever seen any MBBS student studying B.sc  simultaneously ??

NO ?

Then it is your insecurity / complex which is forcing you to study for two or more courses simultaneously .

It is a good type of career insurance but ...............

WHEN ONE COURSE IS SUFFICIENT TO ENTER CORPORATE WORLD , THEN IT IS NOTHING BUT YOUR INSECURITY COMPLEX TO STUDY TWO COURSES SIMULTANEOUSLY.

JACK OF ALL TRADES IS MASTER OF NONE.

EK SAADHE SAB SADHE, SAB SAADHE SAB JAYE.

Mr. kumar, phir tum ekbar MBA (finance) ka portion dekho

they have everything in their course (a/c, stats, law, fm, forex, share mkt., business admin, mkting etc..)

is MBA degree

"JACK OF ALL TRADES IS MASTER OF NONE.

EK SAADHE SAB SADHE, SAB SAADHE SAB JAYE."

aur phir bhi wo sabse (CA CS CWA ) jyada package bhi lete hai

latest mumbai placements details (refer Hindustan Times for last week):

highest: 26.00 lacs

avg: 15.00 lacs

Replied 23 March 2011

Mr. kumar, phir tum ekbar MBA (finance) ka portion dekho

they have everything in their course (a/c, stats, law, fm, forex, share mkt., business admin, mkting etc..)

is MBA degree

"JACK OF ALL TRADES IS MASTER OF NONE.

EK SAADHE SAB SADHE, SAB SAADHE SAB JAYE."

aur phir bhi wo sabse (CA CS CWA ) jyada package bhi lete hai

latest mumbai placements details (refer Hindustan Times for last week):

highest: 26.00 lacs

avg: 15.00 lacs

HAVE YOU EVER SEEN ANY CA OR CS UNEMPLOYED ?

I KNOW MANY UNEMPLOYED BRILLIANT MBA friends (finance from IIPM ) .

They are not ready to become insurance agents after MBA .

CA or CS do not face any such target pressures.

All MBAs do not pass out from IIM .

All CA/CS pass out from single institute appointed by govt. of INDIA.

Devadas K S (One life one Dream) (3525 Points)
Replied 24 March 2011

Originally posted by : Barca fan

The main reason for lesser number of CS is due to the fact that ICSI came into existence in 1982 whereas ICAI is there since 1949. So this gap of 33 years makes a difference. Baki on payments issue,no comments...

Replied 24 March 2011

https://www.newsofap.com/newsofap-7286-25-icsi-indian-companies-would-need-50000-company-secretaries-by-2020-newsofap.html