Sachin's farewell speech

Priyanka (CS) (585 Points)

16 November 2013  

" Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar: All my friends, (pause) settle down, let me talk. I would like to thank people who have played an important role in my life. For the first time, I'm carrying a list so that i don't forget them. The most important person in my life, I miss him, since 1999, my father. Without his guidance, I don't think I would be standing in front of you. He told me, "chase your dreams and don't find shortcuts." He told me to to be a very good human being. Whenever I've done something special, when I raised my bat, it was for my father.

·         Tendulkar continues: "My mother, I don't know how she managed such a naughty child like me. She took care of me. She started praying for me before I started playing cricket. Her prayers are blessings and a big thank you for all her sacrifices."

·         "I can't forget my uncle and aunt who I stayed with during my school day. My aunt fed me when I was tired after playing so that I could be stronger and play harder the next day. My elder brother Nitin always encouraged me. My sister Savita was the one who gifted me my first cricket bat, it was a Kashmir Willow."

·         "Ajit, my brother, what can I say about him. He sacrificed his career for me to pursue my cricket. He took me to my coach Ramakant Achrekar and that changed my career. Even last night, he called me and we spoke about my dismissal. We still discuss technique. We have argued over it and had it not been for all that, I would have been a lesser cricketer."

·         "The most beautiful thing happened to me in 1990, when I met my wife. When we decided to start a family, Anjali told me to continue my career with cricket and said that she would take up the responsibility of the family. Thanks for bearing with me, my frustration which I have thrown. You are the best partnership I've had in my life."