PE II Student Failed in Nov 2009, What is next ?

Old Course 3874 views 31 replies

Dear Friends I've been appearing for PE2 since Nov 2006 unsuccessfully. My last attempt was in Nov 2009. (didn't successful nov09) Now that PE2 students have one last final attempt in may 2010, I'm wondering if I should switch over to the new IPCC pattern. Because I still have both groups of PE2 pending, So please advise me if I should stick with PE2 or switch over.

Please guide me on the following questions arise in my mind .

1) What is the criteria of  PE II to IPCC for those student who are joned the PE II on their Degree / Graduation basis.?
2) What Fees would have to pay for Transition , if the student had complete his ITT 250 Hrs ?

3) I got exemption in B Law in May 2007 (PE II ) , what is the Carry Forward No of attempt to use ?

4) If i use Transition scheme from PE II to IPCC , is that exemption shall continue in IPCC or not ?

5) My Last attempts Score as follows

The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India

Examination Results, Nov 2009

Professional Education Examination - II Results

ROLL Number

00473  *Check Merit

Name

RAHUL BALASAHEB DHANWATE

Group I

Accounting

Auditing

Business & Corporate Laws

060E

Total

Result

FAIL

Group II

Cost Accounting & Financial Management

Income Tax and Central Sales Tax

Information Technology

Total

Result

FAIL

Grand Total

Disclaimer:The result given is correct at the time of release of the result by the Institute which accepts no responsibility thereafter for errors or omissions caused as a result of their transmission via the Internet or their downloading or printing by the user. For any clarifications / confirmation please address your enquiries to the Additional Secretary (Exams), The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India, 'ICAI BHAWAN', Post Box No. 7112, Indraprastha Marg, New Delhi - 110 002.

ICAI Home Page

6 )Please suggest me what will i do next and give me some tips to improve myself

7 ) I contineously appeared for Both Groups of PE II from Nov 2006,  is that correct

8 ) What policy i have to adopt for getting a succes in CA Exams

Replies (31)

Hi Rahul, i also was having the same doubt about conversion. I enquired tht with Mumbai ICAI, they told that v can convert but first attempt for u in new scheme will be on May 2011 and only after clearing 1st grp u will b able to start articleship. Conversion fee is around 8000 something thats in ICAI website. For further Ph of mumbai icai 02239802932.

Originally posted by : rahul dhanwate

Dear Friends I've been appearing for PE2 since Nov 2006 unsuccessfully. My last attempt was in Nov 2009. (didn't successful nov09) Now that PE2 students have one last final attempt in may 2010, I'm wondering if I should switch over to the new IPCC pattern. Because I still have both groups of PE2 pending, So please advise me if I should stick with PE2 or switch over.

Please guide me on the following questions arise in my mind .

1) What is the criteria of  PE II to IPCC for those student who are joned the PE II on their Degree / Graduation basis.?
2) What Fees would have to pay for Transition , if the student had complete his ITT 250 Hrs ?

3) I got exemption in B Law in May 2007 (PE II ) , what is the Carry Forward No of attempt to use ?

4) If i use Transition scheme from PE II to IPCC , is that exemption shall continue in IPCC or not ?

5) My Last attempts Score as follows

The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India

Examination Results, Nov 2009

Professional Education Examination - II Results

ROLL Number

00473  *Check Merit

Name

RAHUL BALASAHEB DHANWATE

Group I

Accounting

Auditing

Business & Corporate Laws

060E

Total

Result

FAIL

Group II

Cost Accounting & Financial Management

Income Tax and Central Sales Tax

Information Technology

Total

Result

FAIL

Grand Total

Check Another Roll Number || Home

Hosted by National Informatics Centre

Disclaimer:The result given is correct at the time of release of the result by the Institute which accepts no responsibility thereafter for errors or omissions caused as a result of their transmission via the Internet or their downloading or printing by the user. For any clarifications / confirmation please address your enquiries to the Additional Secretary (Exams), The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India, 'ICAI BHAWAN', Post Box No. 7112, Indraprastha Marg, New Delhi - 110 002.

ICAI Home Page

6 )Please suggest me what will i do next and give me some tips to improve myself

7 ) I contineously appeared for Both Groups of PE II from Nov 2006,  is that correct

Rahul it would be wise to shift to ipcc and give a try cause like you i was also a pe2 student giving 3 unsuccesful attempts, but i shifted to ipcc in this sept as per the notification and beleive me i cleared both groups this time

You will be allowed to shift to ipcc but just check with the institute whether they will let you sit for may 10 attempt cause i heard that notification was valid only for nov attempt. anyways ask at the institute.

What Fees would have to pay for Transition , if the student had complete his ITT 250 Hrs ?

Rs.6000/-

keep in mind u will have to pay 3000 later for the compulsory orientation course so in reality it will be Rs.9000

That should have been exhusted by now for you cause exemption is carried forward only for 3 attempts

eg so assuming that u sit in may if u get a exemption in nov 08 or later will allow u to carry forward in ipcc

its better to ask the institute but according to me u have exhausted all ur chances , correct me if i am wrong

Study hard with focus if u are working somewhere take a leave of 3 months for the exam and study 10-12 hours daily atleast, try and read the module given by institute at least i have scored very good marks in subjects where i studied from module

also try other courses like cs which are manageable compared to ca

There is no shotcut for passing and excelling in ca exams but u should understand the concept i.e. ur concept should be crystal clear

oh man!!!  me to in a same position confused what to do next

It is sad that ICAI is neglecting PE2 students and pulling down passing percentile. Its a dull situtation and in your case, if u did not get exemption you cud hv easily transfered to IPCC. Its better to appear again as a PE2 candidate and hope this time you pass out. All the best :-)

0.25% in June 2009 & 1.26% in Nov 2009...It's clear the Instt does not want Pe2 candidates to pass-out smoothly. Keeping this trend it mind, its' better to switch over to the New curriculum i.e IPcc. 

Its very bad that we are very confustion about the PE II. Whether we want to switch over or write the exams.

But the ICAI board is not  giving clear instructions on this.

I feel that ICAI must act accordingly to the lakhs of students who are appearing for PE II and give a chance to convert into IPCC.

Whats this everytime changing the system. The thing is only to change the syllabus and including extra subject or changes is practical training but here they are taking the money for PEII registraion and they are cancelling it and again for conversion they are taking money.

A right man (person who is in a top position) must approach and explain the matters on PEII students.

Please help us sir.

We are really confused.

I hope u will act positively

RAHUL,

I am a pe2 student as well. Even I am still to complete both groups. In my opinion it is recommended for you to shift to IPCC if given a chance rather than continuing in pe2. Incase you write under pe2 and pass its fine else, you will have to anyhow write under IPCC in NOV 10 as May 10 is the last pe2 exam and wait till the next Feb for the results and only then you will be allowed to start your Articleship. That would delay your Final by another 7 months or so. Instead convert to IPCC whenever the scheme is announced and try sincerely for both the groups in this May 10 . Atleast clearing the first group is guaranteed and so you can start with your Articleship.

Under both the schemes the tenure of Articleship is the same. The only difference is that the eligibility to sit for Final is after 2 years of Articles in pe2 where as it is 2.5 years in IPCC. But the risk is little more in pe2 as it is going to be the last attempt in May 10. I dont know if you are in a position to take the risk.

My opinion is the sooner you start your Articleship the better as the Final eligibility is dependent on time spent in the Articleship. Even i was very adamant about completing only under pe2 but i cannot afford to take any risk where-in i have to complete all the 6 papers to start Articles.

I wrote an e-mail to our Institute highlighting our need to know about the transition scheme. I am expecting a reply from them. We are the most unlucky lot where we compete with people who start Articleship right after their CPT.

Your exemption of 2007 will not be valid anymore. The fees for conversion last time was around Rs.10000/-

I hope atleast this time the Institute releases the announcement at the earliest unlike last time where they announced in the 11th hour.

LETS HOPE FOR THE BEST !!!

RAMESH,

Just before our Nov 09 exams our Insti released an announcement giving us a waiver of the mandatory 9 month rule, allowing pe2 guys to write under IPCC in Nov 09. Animish is such an example for this.

We can expect something like this even this time. So, there could be a possibility of our writing of May 10 under IPCC. The Mumbai number that you are mentioning only talks about the existing rules. Unfortunately they misguide us. Here the announcement is yet to come. Write an e-mail to the concerned people in the Delhi ICAI.  

GUYS check out this link...

/forum/attention-pe-ii-students-9th-oct-09--51172.asp

Hope this will be of some help.

TRUST ME, no point continuing PE2..Its better to convert to ipcc.Less than 50 students clear pe2 in each attempt so i cant see any light at the end of the tunnel..

WHAT IS THIS UNIT SCHEME ????

please let me know  if the following is correct ?

example :

if a candidate gets

Costing - 40

income tax - 40

Info tech - 70

Total = 150 - pass in CA PE-II Gr2 ; GR-1 is still pending to clear

Now he converts to IPCC ....

Gr1 - Accounts - 1 , LAW , Cosing , Tax

that means he has to score min 200 to pass IPCC Gr1

so if costing & tax are exempted the he has to score (200-40-40 = 120 marks ) to get IPCC Gr1 cleared , Avg 60 marks in each paper ( Accounts -1 , Law )

He can start aricalship !!

Similarly for GR2 IPCC

accounts , Audit , Infotech

Min marks to pass 150

so to clear GR2 IPCC he needs to score 150-70= 80 marks

i.e 40 marks in each paper--- Accounts-2 , Audit

plese tell me if i am correct in understanding

One thing is clear. If you've got both groups left, switch IMMEDIATELY. Don't wait. But Group 1 , for eg, it's a tough call because pass% this time was nearly 10%. Need to work harder. I had my share of distractions, as I had been trying for some other tests as well. No excuses. Very disappointed to miss out by just  9 marks.

guys check this out....he has got exemption in law in nov. 09 attempt.....so his exemption can b carried forward upto nxt 3 attempts....

He who?? And yes exemption will carry forward for 3 attempts.