Income tax return filing for consultant

733 views 8 replies

I am a consultant, and i got my Form-16, just want to know, while efiling- which salary i need to consider for- 

INCOME FROM SALARY -

1) Total amount credited for year (including TDS),

2) Total amount credited for year (excluding TDS),

i.e., suppose i got 1L for the year where TDS got deducted, Rs, 10K, so while filing do i need to consider my salary as in case of 

1) 1L, or,

2)90K

Request you to pls do the needful at earliest.

Anand Kumar

Replies (8)
Your salary would be considered inclusive of TDS. In your example Rs. 1 Lakh.
Yes as truly said your Income should be shown inclusive of TDS.
Either you are an employee or you are a consultant. Employee will show salary and consultant will show his business / profession.

So file after you gain clarity
Doshiji is correct.

A retired professional proviedes  free consultancy on regualr basis to enterprenuers who lost heavily in their enterprises, to help them come out of their debts and to make their business run in to profits within a fixed time frame by providing various methods. He never charged anything from any one. He is helping people only as a social work  .But one client wants to pay him in kind by booking  his tickets for travel , buying his  medicines online  etc. . How the professional is supposed to treat this amount under  his IT return, if the annual amount of such payments exceed one lac.

Thank you so much for all your valuable inputs.
In addition to that, just want a confirmation, while filing tax return, i need to select ITR 1 and continue with filling details in same forms.

Please do oblige me with your suggestion.

Thanks & Regards,
Anand Kumar.
If you have only salary income you can file ITR 1
Agree with Doshiji sir regarding treatment. And ITR 1 for Salary income and Interest. For further info refer https://incometaxindiaefiling.gov.in/e-Filing/Services/DownloadItrLink.H T M L