I want to learn public speaking

1448 views 10 replies

Friends, I hope the day is treating you well

There will be many occassions in personal or professional life when we have to address a large group of people i.e. public speaking.

I want to learn public speaking. But i have hesitation and fear which stops me to start. I don't know where and how to start?

Will someone tell me how to start?

Reply only when you have experience in public speaking

I don't need general tips like leave fear, be positive and confident etc. I know them but don't know how to achieve them in public speaking.

I believe that here are pepole who are public speakers and can help me.

waiting for reply

Replies (10)
Originally posted by : Deepak kmr sharma

Friends, I hope the day is treating you well

There will be many occassions in personal or professional life when we have to address a large group of people i.e. public speaking.

I want to learn public speaking. But i have hesitation and fear which stops me to start. I don't know where and how to start?

I don't need general tips like leave fear, be positive and confident etc. I know them but don't know how to achieve them in public speaking.

waiting for reply

With this kind of attitude you can never be a good public speaker.!

Clarity in communication  is the first step...

While interacting in group, when we look into their eyes i feel they have love and affection for me(professional) and r my well wishers....The same thing i feel for them...and my nervousness/fear/etc goes away...This doesnt happen intially..Because shedding off this type of attachment(fear,etc) is not easy and first requires the realization that this attachment is incorrect and damaging.but practice helps me...

If you create positive thoughts about yourself, you will feel good and your self-esteem will be strengthened, and if you create negative thoughts, you will feel depressed, with low self-esteem. The mind opens up the way to the self. By creating the right type of thoughts you can open up your inner potential again, and rediscover that as people we are full of positive qualities.

Much More!...goodluck!

Deepak, I am very confident that I will be able to help you out in this regard.

First of all,  let me clarify that I am an effective public speaker and have given speeches to crowd of 1-1.5 thousand and I am confident that I can give an effective speech even to a crowd of a lakh. I give powerpoint presentations at my office and give spiritual discourses at spiritual congregations.

If you want to be an effective public speaker, following are the things you should always keep in mind :

1. Know that all the people are in same boat. All have fear of rejection. They too know/feel that it is really a 'great task' to speak to a large crowd. Hence, you should never fear that these people will laugh at you or judge you badly.

2. It is my practical advice that unless you feel proud about your good qualities, you will never be able to impress people. We all have faults. We just need to focus on our positive side and not negative side, though we should try to improve on these negative side from within. But, the crux is to always focus on our positive side. I know Deepak that you are quite confident of yourself. By hearing these talks, you will become more confident. Even knowledgeable people develop fear at the mere thought of giving speech in public. Thus, the key is just be proud as a lion and roar out in public. There is no value to remain like a goat in this world. People respect only lions. Only they are the king. Therefore, keep lion as your role model. By keeping this kind of attitude, even if you are a zero today, one day you will surely become a hero ! I have seen public speakers who knew nothing but yet impressed public by roaring like a lion and coming back !  My boss has more knowledge than me, but he fears speaking in public. He always stands in aghast when his subbordinate (i.e. 'I') speaks more dynamically than him.  While It takes time to change a 'swabhav' i.e habit but by practicing continuously, you will start improving.

3. While giving our speech, first of all, we should focus on the message. Do not mug up the message. If you mug up, a fear will always be there in your mind that you will forget the things in front of public and they will think you are a dumb. Therefore, do not mug up. Just understand the summary and speak in your own words.

4.  In order to impress people, you should be able to express your thoughts in a fluent way. Those whose communication skills are not very good, should just focus on the message and be confident and the things will just settle down.

These are the most important practical aspects if you want to be an effective public speaker. For the minor details like clothes, hairstyle etc., you will even get it from books and articles on net.

I hope, you will emerge as more confident than before. Best of luck !

Warm Regards,

Veeral Gandhi

Originally posted by : Member (Account Deleted)

waiting for reply

"With this kind of attitude you can never be a good public speaker.!"

Okay dear friend,

my attitude is bad. Is yours good? Instead of writing something valuable, you just criticized me. I don’t want to make argument with you but will say that Being positive is good but being only positive is also not good. We should look at both sides i.e. negative side too. Leaders make scams and if we don’t bother, it is not positivity. People who tell, leave fear, be positive and confidence but don't tell "how" are not useful at all.

Confidence is good but over confidence is bad and you may not know the border. Titanic was a great ship. It was called unsinkable ship at that time. But it couldn’t complete even its first journey. Its captain was so positive and confident that it could not noticed the warnings given to him. He didn’t reduce the speed of ship even after there was low visibility. It is just an example of not looking at downside. Don't take it as criticism but as a example to learn from mistakes.

Fear is also good to some extent. It helps you to achieve your goal if withing limits. Exam fear is a good example. We study more in exam time due to exam fear.

So instead of criticize and spread negativity, try to add value

Thanks to Gitika ji, Veeral ji and Lokesh ji

I have fear since one bad experience from my school days. When i was in class 9th. On teachers day, i was unexpectedly force to give speech in front of whole school (around 500 students and teachers). I hardly able to speak 3-4 lines and repeated to them. My whole body was vibrating and heartbeats was uncontrollable. When i left, the students were clapping. it ashamed me a lot. since then i have resistance towards public speaking. But now i want to break the limit.

Thanks for your encouragement

Originally posted by : Deepak kmr sharma

When i was in class 9th. On teachers day, i was unexpectedly force to give speech in front of whole school (around 500 students and teachers). I hardly able to speak 3-4 lines and repeated to them. My whole body was vibrating and heartbeats was uncontrollable. When i left, the students were clapping. it ashamed me a lot. since then i have resistance towards public speaking.

Deepak, let me recount a similar event of my childhood. When I was 8 year old, I took participation in an oratory program arranged as a part of Ganeshotsava festival in our society. I became a freedom fighter and had mug up about a page. But when I came on stage, I forgot everything ! But, since I was just a child, people sympathized with me and yet clapped inorder to encourage me. That was an event from my childhood, but as I grew up, I became very introspective and improved myself. From first year of my college, I started giving speeches, which impressed one and all. Appreciation from people motivates me a lot. This inspires me to give speech in a dynamic manner.

Below is a story about a young lady, who overcame her stage fright. It is an excerpt from the book “ The Power of Your sub-conscious mind”.

A young lady was invited to an audition. She had been looking forward to the interview. However, on three previous occasions, she had failed miserably due to stage fright. She possessed a very good voice, but she was certain that when the time came for her to sing, she would be seized with stage fright.

The subconscious mind takes your fears as a request, proceeds to manifest them, and brings them into your experience. On three previous auditions she sang wrong notes, and she finally broke down and cried.

The cause, as previously outlined, was an involuntary autosuggestion, i.e., a silent fear thought emotionalized and subjectified. She overcame it by the following technique: Three times a day she isolated herself in a room. She sat down comfortably in an armchair, relaxed her body, and closed her eyes. She stilled her mind and body to the best of her ability. Physical inertia favors passivity and renders the mind more receptive to suggestion. She counteracted the fear suggestion by its converse, saying to herself, “I sing beautifully. I am poised, serene, confident, and calm.” She repeated the words slowly, quietly, and with feeling from five to ten times at each sitting. She had three such “sittings” every day and one immediately prior to sleep at night.

At the end of a week she was completely poised and confident, and gave a definitely outstanding audition. Carry out the above procedure, and the death of fear is certain.

I hope that this story will motivate you further. I have also attached the book named “The Power of Sub-conscious mind”, which is an all time best-seller. Just read it and it will fill your mind with positive thoughts.

Best of luck !

From,

Veeral

The Power of Your Sub-Conscious Mind :

In my opinion, in order to be a good public speaker, one has to be clear about what one has to say. And based on your posts on CCI, you appear to be so. Though I am not good enough to offer an advice,still I would like to add that in order to make sure that you do not fumble while speaking, practice in front of mirror or make a video and analyse your body language, facial expressions because these things make half of the impression. Sometimes, we feel that we are not good or capable enough, but the listeners feel otherwise. When I was in class V, I was once asked to present quiz in the morning assembly in school. Seeing 750-800 students, I fumbled initially and I thought that I have made a mess of the duty, but still I got applause and the effort was well appreciated. To put it simple, the clarity of purpose and believe in oneself are the most important prerequisites to public speaking. And do not forget that everyone starts amateur before becoming an expert.

Steve jobs may be a role model.

He was magician of words

he could easily make believe their audience what he say.

He was visionary, very good speaker, innovator and successful businessman in world.

I will practice and try when i got a chance

thanks to all for giving your support