GST on Housing maintenance

178 views 1 replies
There is a notification of year 2019 where it is mentioned that no GST will be charged if the maintenance amount is less than 7500/- p.m irrespective of fact whether the turnover of service provider is more than 20 Lacs or not.. Kindly inform whether is any case it can be charged if the maintenance is below 7500/- pm
Replies (1)

GST on housing maintenance charges is not automatically applicable; it depends on specific conditions. You are not required to pay GST if your monthly maintenance charges are ₹7,500 or less per flat.

When is GST Applicable?

GST at a rate of 18% is only levied if both of the following conditions are met:

1. Monthly Maintenance Amount: The maintenance charge exceeds ₹7,500 per month per flat.

2. Society's Annual Turnover: The total annual aggregate turnover of the Resident Welfare Association (RWA) or housing society exceeds ₹20 lakhs (or ₹10 lakhs in special category states).

Key Points to Remember

• Taxed on Total Amount: If both conditions are met (e.g., your monthly maintenance is ₹9,000 and the society's turnover is over ₹20 lakhs), the 18% GST is applied to the entire amount (the full ₹9,000), not just the portion exceeding ₹7,500.

• Per Flat Basis: The ₹7,500 threshold is calculated per residential apartment. If you own two flats, the limit applies to each flat separately.

• Compliance Responsibility: These compliance requirements (such as GST registration and tax collection) are the responsibility of the housing society/RWA, not the individual resident.

• Exemptions: Water and electricity charges billed at cost are typically excluded from this calculation.

Summary: If your monthly maintenance is ₹7,500 or below, you are exempt from GST, regardless of the society's annual turnover. If your maintenance is above ₹7,500, you only pay GST if your society's annual turnover also exceeds the ₹20 lakh threshold.

06 July 2026
Senior Accountant

Arvindkumar Maniar & Co.

Rajkot

ARTICLESHIP 11 July 2026