Form mbp-1 - disclosure of directors interest.

Co Act 2013 10809 views 6 replies

Dear Professional Colleagues,

Could anyone please provide me a clarification on the below-mentioned two aspects of Form MBP-1?

1) The proforma of MBP-1 does not contain details of directors relatives. Should we also provide the disclosure of interests of relatives of directors?

2) Do we need to file form MGT-14 with the RoC for registration of the board resolution taking note of such disclosures? This aspect is not very clear.

Rule 8(5) of the Companies (Meetings of the Board and its Powers) Rules, 2014, provides that in addition to Resolutions referred to in Section 179(3),  taking note of such disclosure can only be done by means of a resolution passed by the board. Further, Section 117(3)(g) provides that only resolutions referred to in Section 179(3) are to be filed in Form MGT-14. Although 117(3)(g) does not contain a direct reference to matters mentioned in Rule 8, are we still required to file form MGT-14 for the same?

Thanks in anticipation.

Replies (6)

Reply to your queries:

Query No. 1 - Not required to file details of relatives since the form itself does not provides for

Query No. 2 -  MGT-14 is to be filed since Sec 117 provides for registration of resolutions passed pursuant to Section 179(3).

Dharmesh Shah

B.Com., L.L.B., A.C.S.

dharmesh_blue7 @ yahoo.co.in

Respected Sir/Mam,

Thanks in advance. i want to confirm that in the case of a small Company having paid up capital less than 50 Lac is yet to filed the form MBP-1. Now the company has passed board resolution on 30.08.2014 for the Approval of Balance Sheet, which is required to be filed in MGT-14 within 30 days. Can we put the resolution for MBP-1 in this Board meeting.

Section 184(1) reads as follows:

"Every director shall at the first meeting of the Board in which he participates as a director and thereafter at the first meeting of the Board in every financial year or whenever there is any change in the disclosures already made, then at the first Board meeting held aftersuch change, disclose his concern or interest...."

It is understood from the facts of the case that the board meeting held on 30th August, 2014 would not have been the first board meeting of the financial year. The disclosure in form MBP-1 should have been noted at the first board meeting which was held for the FY commencing April, 2014.

Hence, there is a contravention of Section 184(1) for which the penal provision u/s 184(4) will apply:

"If a director of the company contravenes the provisions of sub-section (1) or subsection (2), such director shall be punishable with imprisonment for a term which may extend to one year or with fine which shall not be less than fifty thousand rupees but which may extend to one lakh rupees, or with both."

However, it may be added that although the penalty has been attracted, it would be open to the company to take note of the said form MBP-1 at the board meeting held on 30th August, 2014 and file form MGT-14 accordingly.

Hope this clarifies the issue raised.

Please confirm whether a director has to disclose his interest in a foreign company as well....

Respected sir,

connected with your answer i would like to know that,wether the directors can be forced to declare intrest of their relartives or is there any complusion that directors have to disclose the intrest of their relatives?

can anyone help ?

if a director is a share trader , then do he have to intimate evey change in MBP-1 ?