Error shown when the return if digitally signed

Efiling 3134 views 13 replies

Hi Everyone,

One of my client has his accounts audited and is required to file return online by digitally signing the same.

The Digital Signature has been successfully registered at the site.

When I am uploading the xml file and signing the same with the pfx file the same is showing

an error message Cannot read the file for signing C:\fakepath\ITR_PANCARDNO.XML

This is causing a serious problem at my end.

I am following with the department but have not found any resolution.

would be really helpful if anyone could help in this regard.

Mahesh Singhal

Replies (13)

hai,

Just yesterday i faced the same problem. the error is due to java.

Use updated java vertion, this you can download from internet and file the return through internet explorer.

i am sure your problem will be solved if you follow as per above information

Hi Srinivas,

The problem is not due to Java in my case.

I would not allow to register the digital Signature if java is not installed in your computer.

I have an updated java version and the problem si coming when i am signing the same.

The error says cannot read fake file by showing some other location.

Try once from Internet Explorer & may be problem is due to Digital Signature. same fake path error came to me that's why i told you.

Thanks bu i have tried the same from internet explorer.

Please contact to your digital signature enroll office for futher proceedings they will clarify in this issue.

ha swathi is right in my opinion also

There is no problem with the digital signature.  Even I faced the same problem earlier.  The problem is due to restrictions there in the internet settings.  You just have to enable them.  Which restrictions you have to enable, please type FAKEPATH- income tax return in the search option of CAClubindia.  You will get the solution.

Best Wishes,

Kunal Mangal

you have to create a folder "fakepath" on C drive and you have to copy the xml file in that folder and from there u have to upload the xml file hope this will help u

AGREE WITH MR. DEEPAK COMPLETELY....I HAVE ALSO FACED THIS PROBLEM....& THE SOLUTION PROVIDED BY MR. DEEPAK IS ALSO USED BY ME TO UPLOAD MY RETURN...& THERE IS NO PROBLEM AFTERWARDS....

hi sir,

kindly reduce your security level to medium and not medium high from the internet option under tools menu.

try to upload in internet explorer

Add the efiling site to Trusted websites list in options in IE and then try again to upload it. It will work.

JUST ADD THE INCOMETAXINDIAEFILING SITE IN TRUSTED SITES IN INTERNET EXPLORER AND U WILL B ABLE TO UPLOAD UR RETURN. IT WILL WORK 100%