Due date of payment of GST for April 2020.

541 views 10 replies
Greetings !
Please let me know that for April 2020 GST liability payment due date is 20.05.2020. or any further notification has come in COVID 19 crisis.

Then please share the notification number for reference.
Replies (10)

The due date of payment is still the same as is was before with ralaxations in late fees, and interest according to turnover

But for march 2020 due date is 4.5.2020. without late fee. For April 2020...any changes or 20th of the succeeding Month.

There no extension of due date for April 2020 GST return. However considering the future lockdown, the relaxation will be declared soon on state level.

If you are satisfied with above, please drop email to psandac @ gmail.com 

@ kinshuk ganguly

Here is a misconception which lies in the industry. The due dates of Feb, march and april returns were never extended. Only relaxations are provided for late fees and interests. The relaxations varies according to turnovers. The relaxations also have a time limit that if the returns for the three months are not filed by a certain date no relaxations can be availed. So the due date are the same, the relaxations are also the same. they are not yet extended.

That means for April 2020 if preceding year turn over is more than 5cr..can pay by 5.06.2020 without paying interest.. please illustrate it.

Yes if GSTR-3B filed till 04.06.2020 no interest. If filed like for example 07.06.2020 then interest at 9% (relaxation by cutting rate to half) for 3 days. But if filed after 24.06.2020 then interest @ 18% from 20.05.2020 till the date of filing. For more clarifications you can send in private chat/message

The Notifications which were issued on 03.04.2020 by the CENTRAL BOARD OF INDIRECT TAXES AND CUSTOMS ( CBIC ), were related to give relaxation to the Trade and Industry with the Late Fees levied under Section 47(1) of the CGST Act 2017 and INTEREST under Section 50(1) of the CGST Act 2017.

The Notifications used "Section 128 of the CGST Act 2017".

Section 128 of the CGST Act 2017 states that : "The Government may, by notification, waive in part or full, any penalty referred to in Section 122 or Section 123 or Section 125 or any LATE FEES referred to in Section 47 for such class of taxpayers and under such mitigating circumstances as may be specified therein on the recommendations of the Council."

Therefore, the DUE DATES have not been EXTENDED. What has happened is the Interest and Late Fees have been waived off/reduced.

Therefore, as per your query, the DUE DATE for filing FORM GSTR-3B for the month of APRIL 2020, is still "20.05.2020."

The only relaxation is with INTEREST & LATE FEES.

If your AGGREGATE TURNOVER EXCEEDS Rs. 5 Crore, then NO LATE FEES will be levied under Section 47(1) of the CGST Act 2017 if the Return is filed within 24.06.2020.

But note that Interest will be levied under Section 50(1) of the CGST Act 2017 but at a reduced Rate of "9% p.a." after the 15th day from the original due date ( i.e. in case of April it is 05.06.2020 till 24.06.2020 ).

CONCLUSION :

1). DUE DATE FOR FILING FORM GSTR-3B for the MONTH OF APRIL 2020 is :

"20th MAY, 2020 ( 20.05.2020 )."

2). DUE DATE OF FILING FORM GSTR-3B for the MONTH OF APRIL 2020 " WITHOUT LATE FEES & INTEREST " is :

" 04th JUNE, 2020 ( 04.06.2020 )."

3). DUE DATE FOR FILING FORM GSTR-3B for the MONTH OF APRIL 2020 " WITH INTEREST @ 9% p.a. BUT WITHOUT LATE FEES " is :

"24th June, 2020 ( 24.06.2020 )."

( KINDLY NOTE : If the Return is not filed within 24th June 2020, then INTEREST @ 18% p.a. will be calculated from the original due date i.e. from 21st May, 2020 till the date of filing the Return for the month of April 2020 ).

I hope it is clear now.

Shivam RC.
Thanks..👍
You're Welcome Sir...

In case your total turnover under GST is less than Rs. 5 crore, then you can file GSTR-3B and pay tax by 30.06.2020 without any interest however if you have turnover of more than Rs. 5 crore then you can pay tax within 15 days of the due date and after that reduced rate of 9% interest shall be charged. [Notification No. 31/2020- Central Tax, dated 03.04.2020]