Capital gain Utilization

Others 3441 views 7 replies

Respected Members,

I have Sold the Flat in 2022-23, and realized the capital gain the same was deposited to Capital Gain account. 

In year 2024-25 i have utilized the gain in purchase other Flat. 

So do I need to disclose the same in ITR and Under which point it will be shown. 

Pls help 

Replies (7)

Whether you claimed sec. 54 exemption in ITR of AY 2023-24?

Yes sir Exemption was claimed on time U/s 54 in 2023-24 ITR.

No option available for its utilization claim in ITR (for AY 2025-26); so no need to report.

You will be asked for its utilization at the time of closure of CGAS account.

@ Saurabh Katiyar

From details provided by you, it seems, 2 years have already passed after getting the CG, and the CG account should be closed.

In such a situation, if there was any balance remaing in CG account after purchase of another flat, then it would need to be reported in your return and would be taxable.

If there is no balance in the CG account then, as Dhirajlal Ji advised, nothing to be reported in ITR.

Capital Gain account scheme fulfilled

I sold land in jan 2023 for 2.89cr. indexed cost 20lakhs capital gains after indexation 2.69cr but deposited2. 83 In capital gains account. Now i have purcased flat in october 2024. Total cost of purchase and renovation etc is 2.70cr. i have withdrawn the entire cg amount. Including interest accumulated. Do i have to pay tax. 

@ Kamal Poddar 

Since the amount deposited in CG account and later taken out (with interest) is more than the actual CG, the excess amount is taxable.

If the property purchase had exceeded the CG amount, the tax exemption would apply only to  the CG amount