Capital gain tax

Tax queries 412 views 5 replies

In the last financial year( 2018-19) I had made a short term capital gains of Rs 3.77 Lakhs.

And in the same financial year had made a long term capital gains of - Rs 1.67 Lakhs(Loss)

Could you please confirm if I can offset this loss of Rs 1.67 Lakhs against the profit of Rs 3.77 Lakhs

made in the same financial year.

This clarification is required for filling my Income Returns.

Kindly confirm.

Thanks & Regards,

Satish   

Replies (5)

No. LTCL cannot be set off against STCG...

Long term capital  loss of Rs 1.67 can not be set off against 3.77  short term capital gain . you only can  set off long  term capital loss against  long  term capital  gain . 

please refer  section 74(1) (b)  of the Income tax act  1961  

Also confirm with others also. 

But you can carry forward long term capital loss
long term capital loss can not be set off against short term capital gain but you can carry forward long term capital loss for next 8 assessment year.

LTCG CANNOT SETOFF AGAINST STCG AS LOWER RATE OF TAX LOSS CANNOT BE SETOFF . LTCG LOSS CAN C/F TO UPTO NEXT8  ASST.YEARS.