20 or 10 for calculation of long term capital gain doubt

honourable CA club India ,for calculation of long term capital gain 20%or 10% ?? plse tell me
Replies (4)
Quick Summary
This discussion clarifies the tax rates for Long Term Capital Gains (LTCG). For equity shares, equity funds, and ULIPs, the rate is generally 10% on gains exceeding £1 lakh, applicable since FY 2018-19. For other assets like debt funds and real estate, the rate is 20%, with indexation benefits available to reduce the taxable amount.

For most assets like equity shares, equity mutual funds, and equity-oriented unit-linked insurance plans (ULIPs), the long-term capital gains tax rate is 10% on gains exceeding Rs. 1 lakh. This rule was introduced in the Union Budget 2018 and is applicable from the financial year 2018-19 onwards.

For assets like debt mutual funds and real estate, the long-term capital gains tax rate is 20% on gains after allowing for indexation benefits. Indexation is a technique to adjust the purchase price of an asset for inflation, which reduces the tax liability.

Thank you @ Rakesh ishi honourable sir, please always guide me ......

10% in below cases (without indexation):

For all assessees - u/s 112A
LTCG above 1 lakh on:
1. Equity Shares
2. Equity funds
3. Units of business trust

For resident assessees - u/s 112
LTCG on:
1. Listed securities (other than units)
2. Zero coupon bonds

For NR and foreign companies - u/s 112
LTCG on: