Want to be an expert in Excel-Macro

Excel 5380 views 25 replies

Do you want to be an expert in Excel - Macros.

Steps to be followed:

First we have to understand how the Excel works when we give inputs thru Keyboard or mouse.

If we can easily understand the same, we can write 'n' number of macros without the help of VB.

I accept that we have to use VB Code in Macro, but Concepts are much more important than the VB Codes.

Follow the given steps to get a clear idea:

Step 1: Record a new MACRO
Step 2: Select A10, Type "CACLUBINDIA"
Step 3: Stop the MACRO
Step 4: Go to Visual Basic Editor.
Step 5: Read how System has written codes in your macro.

You can understand the codes what system has written in macro. Just try the same with some other Functions. (like set print area, delete sheet....etc)

You can be an expert in macro, if you understand the concept without having Coding Knowledge in VB.

I think i will be helpful to you... please reply and give suggestions...

Replies (25)
I m Ravi Mehta. I read your message its fine but i m not able to still got clear idea on what to do after stop macro. Plz. give me proper idea so i can get my work faster. Thanks in advance
Dear Mr. Ravi.

After that (Stop Macro), press Alt+F11, it will get you to VB Editor window.

You can find Project - VBProject Window.
In that window, Module1 will be available.
Double Click it.

You can find the codes in the middle window.
I got your reply. Thanks You. I got the module which seems that Sub Macro1() ' ' Macro1 Macro ' Macro recorded 12/19/2007 by RAVI ' ' Range("A10").Select ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "caclubindia" Range("C15").Select End Sub Now what i have to do for repeat this steps. Thaks for your solution Hope fast reply from you. Thanks.
Hi ravi

when ever u run his macro u would be entering the word "caclubindia" in cell A10 and will move to cell C15.

u can try nd experiment with it by replacing the lines
Range("A10").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "caclubindia"
Range("C15").Select

with

ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "caclubindia"

Dear Mr. Ravi,

Now you know the VB codes:
1. to select a cell (i.e Range("A10").Select)
2. to Enter value in cells (i.e. ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1="Caclubindia")

The same way u just run a macro to change Cell background color, font color and font size.

Then read the codes as, how EXCEL has written Macro to do the particular action.

You can easily get/understand those kind of codes also...

The same way, record macros and learn VB Codes. One fine day, you will come to know all basic kind of codings to develop your own Macros without Excel/VB Help.

I want to know what are Macros used for??

Yaar but it's not easy i think so....but i have already taken lots of help from this practice........

Dear Kamraj, I want to be expert in excel. for that i want ot learn VB . can u guide me on line or refer some books.
Can I learn the VB without any coaching classes or without any help of any teacher.

Everyone knows that there are two Stages are there in Excel.

1. Basic Level - Mostly deals with predefined formulas
  2. Advanced Level - with the help of MACRO, we can define our own formulas.

If  you are strong in Stage ONE, to get a strong base in Second Stage, obviously you should learn VB to create MACRO.

If  you have your own PC, try to instal MSDN help CD in your machine... It will give you very good base.

Well, Macros are really a lot useful especially while reading reports generated from any Database. Be it through SAP or anything, Macros are fantabulous. No need to say, u must practise it. 

Macro is an Advanced Topic.

Generally what all do is they type first and do all the required formatting later. Using Macros, we format the worksheet first and they type the required matter. The same formatted macro can be used many times.

formatting may be for font, color, formulae or what ever.

I have created quite a few excel macros myself. and i can do it for u people also. If u do a task which is repetive , u can automate it . u can either send ur queries thru this forum or use my email id : abhishekagarwalca @ yahoo.co.in. 

It could make a lot of task simpler, Like Swathi said. But I also agree with Kamraj , u should be an expert at ist stage then u should go for Macros. I consider myself an Expert in Excel but I seldom use macros reason being , u can understand it but ur team members may not understand it and also it is difficult for others to maintain the file. 

Thanx dear.

I have tried my hand on Macros and I find it very time savving.

The best thing is, if you are required to do similar work in several files, do it just once and record its macro. Then use this macro for other files an save ur time.