The horrifying story of an ignorant and incompetent CA student, who desperately needs career advice.

Samarjyoti Das (CA Inter) (24 Points)

18 July 2021  

After doing some serious self-introspect [which I should have done 5 years ago when I joined CA back in 2016 and had immediately figured out CA is not my cup of tea] and decided that I will quit CA for good. Reasons:

1) I am about to turn 27.
2) I did not commence my articleship yet.

In mid-2016, I graduated with B.Com (H) scoring a mere 47%. I was not eligible for appearing for MBA entrance exams due to my underwhelming achievement, so I decided that I would give my best once I join CA (I clearly had fallen for society's "nothing is impossible if you try" saying). So bad marks in graduation also meant that direct-entry route was blocked for me. Hence I enrolled for CPT and cleared it in Dec, 2016.

This is when I should have realized that CA is not my thing. Why? The competition felt too tough for me. In November 2016, when my mother was hospitalized - after tuition, I had to visit her, then go home and study till late nights. Life was like a U-turn from my easy-going, uncompetitive B.com days. Anyways, in those 4 months of preparing for CPT, I sometimes had suicidal thoughts - I don't know why - but I am almost certain it was because of the study pressure. [I was never a meritorious student. I had scored 63% and 75% in my 10th and 12th board exams respectively.] This CA entrance exam made life hell for me, but I was determined, headstrong that if I do not pass the entrance exam in one attempt, it will be a matter of immense shame and I might give up CA.