Service tax

1441 views 2 replies

I READ IN THE NEWS PAPER THAT THE GOVT. HAS INCREASED THE LIMIT FOR SMALL SERVICE PROVIDER TO RS. 50 LACS INSTEAD OF THE 10 LACS LIMIT. IS IT CORRECT AS I DIDN'T GET ANY SUCH THING IN THE COPY OF BUDGET I GOT.

IF AT ALL THIS IS TRUE, HOW IS TO DECIDE THE STATUS OF A SERVICE PROVIDER WHETHER IN THE PREVIOUS YR , HE IS AN SSP OR NOT. ITS 'COZ FOR AN ASSESSEE  TO CHECK WHETHER HE IS AN SSP OR NOT, WE NEED TO CHECK THE SAME WITH THE PREV YR I.E. WETHER ONE IS AN SSP IN THE PREECEEDING YR OR NOT. BT IN CASE A FIRM HAS A TURNOVER OF 30 LACS IN THE PREECEEDING YRS N HE IS NOT  AN SSP BEFORE. N NOW IF THE LIMIT IS TO B INCREASED TO 50 LACS , WHETHER HE WILL B AN SSP IN THE PREV YR OR NOT..

Replies (2)

The limit remain same as Rs.10,00,000 but those Small Service providers having turnover less than 50 Lakhs can pay service tax on cash basis i,e they need not follow recent accrual basis for payment of service tax. 

Correctly pointed out by Mr. Kumar.

Service Tax SSP limit is still Rs. 10,00,000/-.

As for being an SSP, previous year figures have to be considered. 

In your example, 30 Lacs was in previous year, it is not an SSP in  the current year.

Prateek

01 June 2026
Audit, Taxation & Compliance Executive

R P S K & Associates

Nashik