SECTION 44AD AND COMPULSORY TAX AUDIT

Tax queries 233 views 10 replies

I AM WORKING AT SOLE PROPRITORSHIP FIRM.

WE HAVE FILED IT RETURN U/S 44 AD, IN FINANCIAL YEAR:2021-22[6% OF TURNOVER]

BUT IN THE FINANCIAL YEAR:2021-22, WE WANT TO DECLARE THE PROFIT LESS THAN 6% OF TURNOVER AND TURNOVER IS MORE THAN 1 CRORES BUT LESS THAN 2 CRORES.

IN THIS CASE IS IT NECESSARY /ESEENTAIL  TO GET BOOKS OF A/CS AUDITED?

I UNDERSTAND THAT THE RECENT AUDIT TURNOVER LIMIT IS 10 CRORES[WITH LESS THAN 5% RECIPT /PAYMENTS ARE THROUGH MODE OTHER THAN DIGITAL MODE.

I REQUEST CLARIFICATION BY EXPERTS IN THIS MATTER.

REGARDS & THANKS.

Replies (10)
Yess, you have to get your books of account audited and for the next 5 years you are eligible to opt for Presumptive.

That 10 crore limit does not apply to presumptive tax.

So if you want to declare less than 6% profit, then a tax audit will be needed.

It might be less expensive / painful to just go with the 6%. Compare your increased tax (on 6% vs what you actually have) with the time and cost of maintaining your accounts, paying for a tax audit, correcting entries where needed and saving records.

@ Mitesh Shah,

If all receipts are by online or account Payee modes then you may declare 6% profit u/s 44AD

Audit is not required in this case since your turnover is less than 2 Crores
Mr. Eswar Reddy, kindly read Sec 44AD(5), Audit is mandatory if the Assessee opts out of Presumptive Taxation.
Might be oversight, I have not read it properly.

If they want to declare less than 6% profit then Audit is mandatory
Now suppose if in same case turnover is less than 1 cr and we just do not have profit of 6 %
Still the answer remains same, if your GTI > Basic exemption limit and you've shown profit less than 6/8% , you have to get your BoA audited
Audit for how many years?
For thta particular year only, if you breach then you won't be able to opt for Presumptive for next 5 AYs

THANKS ALL FOR YOUR RESPONSE & GUIEDANCE.