Sale of property in SLUM area ....SRA

Hello friends 

Can you please suggest an ans for following 

1) Hold a property in Slums  (  SRA)  in Mumbai Bandra (E)

2 Property purchased in 1885....

3) Now I want to sell this property as legal heir ( property was on name of LATE FATHER) for 65 lakha

My issue is

Since this property is in SLUM ( slum shop to presided) I cannot get it transferred by  registrar  but will have to get notary on 1000 stamp paper and thus I cannot get stamp duty value of this property

2) In such senerio can any one help what details I have to fill in long term capital gains STAMP DUTY VALUE in ITR2

Replies (7)
Quick Summary
This discussion concerns the sale of a slum property in Bandra East, Mumbai, purchased by the late father in 1885. The legal heir wishes to sell it for ₹65 lakhs but faces challenges in registering the transfer due to its slum status, requiring a notary on ₹1000 stamp paper instead of a registrar transfer with stamp duty valuation. The user is seeking guidance on how to accurately declare the stamp duty value for long-term capital gains in their ITR2 filing under these unique circumstances.

Obtain the official Ready Reckoner Rate from the local registrar or online portal for Bandra (E) based on the unit's area. In ITR-2 Schedule CG, enter ₹65 Lakhs as actual consideration and the Ready Reckoner Rate under the SDV field. If the SDV is within 110% of ₹65 Lakhs, ₹65 Lakhs will be used; otherwise, the SDV applies unless challenged via a Departmental Valuation Officer (DVO).

Sir

Thanks for reply

But

Can u not see what I have written 

It is slum property

Cannot get it transferred by registrar

I have written 1000 rs stamp paper and NOT stamp duty rate

Kindly read properly before answering

If it was through ready reckoner rate by registrar of Bandra.....I know that and would have not posted query

Don't answer absurdly 

Sir

Thanks for reply

But

Can u not see what I have written 

It is slum property

Cannot get it transferred by registrar

I have written 1000 rs stamp paper and NOT stamp duty rate

Kindly read properly before answering

If it was through ready reckoner rate by registrar of Bandra.....I know that and would have not posted query

Don't answer absurdly 

Respect in speech isn't about politeness — it's about making the other person feel like they matter.

We all remember how someone made us feel, long after we forget what they said. A harsh word can hurt for years. A kind one can be remembered forever.

Speaking respectfully costs nothing. Speaking harshly can cost relationships, trust, and peace of mind — sometimes for good.

In short: however we choose to speak, it comes back to us. Respect isn't weakness — it's what keeps hearts, and doors, open.

The question on SDV for an SRA redevelopment property is a good one and the earlier suggestion to use Ready Reckoner Rate is actually correct, even though registration was not through the registrar.

Section 50C of the Income Tax Act applies to any transfer of land or building or both. The Supreme Court and various tribunals have held that Section 50C is triggered by the TRANSFER, not by the registration method. An SRA slum property transferred by notarized agreement is still a transfer of immovable property.

For SDV in Schedule CG, use the Ready Reckoner Rate for the specific area and property type as published by the state government. The registrar-vs-notary distinction does not override Section 50C.

Two more things to note:
- Cost of acquisition: since the property was acquired before April 1, 2001, use the Fair Market Value as on 1 April 2001 as your cost base, then apply the Cost Inflation Index.
- TDS under Section 194-IA at 1% applies since the sale value exceeds Rs 50 lakhs. Buyer deducts, seller gets credit.

This [capital gains tax rate guide for AY 2026-27](https://taxgarden.in/blog/capital-gains-tax-rates-asset-class-ready-reckoner-india-ay-2026-27) has the indexation table and SDV rules in Schedule CG.

Thanks for reply

1) I had been to registrar to find out SDV for slums in that particular jurisdiction

They don't have any such value for slums

3) I even inquired with  various people staying in slums as to how they purchase/ sale without registering agreement and without SDV from registrar from that jurisdiction and how they file in ITR

I also approached few C.A for their opinion as to how this transaction and with what values ITR be filled when SDV is not available 

But

There is no standard answer 

It is nobody's fault

ITR asking for SDV and registrar does not have for slums

No Index 2 entries by registrar for slums

So was the reason I posted this query

However

I am extremely sorry and apologise if any body's feelings are hurt

Registrar does not have slum valuation rate as per their answer

Now

Please guide me what to do

About sec 50 for 10 percent variation  ( that sec no has changed ) in new I TAX ACT though contents are same

As regards valuation report in 2001 that  valuer has said he would give ( income tax govt licenced valuer)

I also asked him regarding SDV.....but even he could not answer

I already know taxation of such old property and new income tax act 2025 changed sections and have already filed  itr2 related to such transactions previously

But I am stuck in SDV amount

I was told by some CA to enter as Zero 

Some CA advised to put sale value and SDV as same

So I am confused and so posted this query 

Any way

Thanks for your answer 

Apologise  if any one is hurt

25 August 2026