Regarding section 139(8)

Sir in the portal of the income tax there is no section has been reflected to file the returs for previous year.Please guide me how I can file the returs for the asstt year 2020-21& 2021-22Thanks
Replies (9)
Quick Summary
This discussion addresses difficulties in filing past income tax returns for assessment years 2020-21 and 2021-22, specifically concerning the newly introduced section 139(8A). Users are seeking guidance as the relevant filing option is not yet visible on the income tax portal. It's suggested that the section might be for income earned from FY 2022-23 onwards and may become available after April 1st, 2023, or if introduced by the Finance Act 2021.

Deadline is over .

But you may file it if notice is received.

You may also visit ITO and get approval
Sir but the income tax department added a new section 139(8A) to file the return for the above said asstt year.But. there is in the portal of income tax no section has been reflected yet.Please guide me.
That is for the income earned from FY-2022-23.

So it may reflect from next April
File thru itr U
Kindly check which Finance Act has introduced it.

It might be FA-2022
Sir but ITR U has not been reflected,so how to file it
The utility may be open after 01.04.2023
Sir it is applicable for the asstt year 2020-21 and 2021-22
Which Finance Act has brought the new section 139(8A) ?

If it is brought through FA-2021 then they may enable the option to file past years filing

28 August 2026
Audit Manager

K A R M & CO

Mumbai

CMA

20 September 2026