Notification

Notification 678 views 6 replies

Yesterday I received an email u/s 143(1) from CPC stating that due to internal changes in CPC system the communication reference nos have undergone a change for their order dated 13-Sep-12 pertaining to AY 2012-13. they have indicated earlier ref. no and modified ref. no and last line states that "you are requested to quote the modified ref. no. for any rectification request. I have received a small amount as refund and got a clear ITR processed. Kindly advise what is to be done. Thanks

GR Babu 

Replies (6)

Is there any less refund?

Are you not happy with assesment. 

Unless and untill you give screen shot of ur assesment - no comment can be made.

Dear Mr. Shiroor,

I am very happy with the refund however small it is, in fact I am not keen on refund but a clear ITR process that was done, Only my interest is why the communication now after 3 years and what do I do with it. hope I made my self clear

thanks anyway for your quick response.

Babu

In case of any rectification - (in some cases )  the Communication no has been changed. It is the duty of IT dept to inform you this. If you are happy with the refund thats it - the matter stands closed. In case u r not happy with the assesment you can put a rectification. The original Comm ref is superceded by the Comm recieved now. 

You can ignore this, many people have got this kind of email, if the assessment is closed and you have no issues, you can safely ignore. Its only if you have to raise any issue, this new number will be used henceforth for the said AY.

Thank you gentlemen for the clarification.

Babu

However, the interest received on Refund, if any must be offered to tax in this year as Income from Other Sources...!! Please keep this in mind while filing your return of income for the Assessment Year 2016-17.