Nature of business for web development freelancer under 44ada

ITR 8917 views 13 replies

I am a web developer, working as freelancer, and all my payments are digital transfeered to my account directly.

In previous FY 2016-17, I filled ITR-4 with presumptive taxation under 44ADA, by selecting Nature of Business as "0607-Professionals-Others", and delcaring 50% of my income.

But in new ITR for FY2017-18, I can't see the same code/nature of business to select in ITR-4, and I want to go with same 44ADA to avoid keeping accounts and audits.

Can someone guide me to select proper NOB which are eligible with 44ADA for the same?

Thanks in advance.

Replies (13)

Other IT enabled services ............ 14005

Or

Other software consultancy     ....... 14002

Hi Dhirajlal Ji,

Thanks a lot for your response.

I just want to reconfirm if the NOB you mentioned above are eligible under 44ADA to declare 50% of income? Because previous FY, initially I have selected the code "0709-I.T. enabled services" and I received defective notice 139(1) from IT and then I need to select "0607-Professionals-Others" and respond to that notice which worked then.

So I want to ensure this time before selecting NOB to opt for 44ADA

Thank you.

This year IT based services have been totally seperated, and not clasified w.r.t. the profession u/s. 44ADA, (as were clasified last year). Base on your qualification, it should be accepted.

Great, thanks a lot!

Welcome.........

Well, TDS u/s. 194J itself qualifies professional services...... and ......

In case of any such objection .......... following code can be changed, (which is not IT specific)

Other professional services n.e.c.  ............ 16019

Rambia sir is correct
Hi Udit, Finally which code you used? 14005 or 14002 or 16019 for freelance(web development) to declare 50% of income. I have also same concern.

I will be using => Other professional services n.e.c. ............ 16019

hii udit..can you please give me ur contact number since im facing the same situation as i have received a notice from IT dept with respect to defective return..or else call me at 8240924933 whenever ur free..waiting 4 ur response..thank you

Hi Ankush and Udit,

It would be great help if you share us what worked for this this time AY 2018-19. I have selected 14005 and 14006 NOB under 44AD section and received the 139(9) notice with 86 error code.

Hi Udit,

what need to use this year (FY 2018-19), Other professional services n.e.c. ............ 16019, is NOT Available.

Can any one help?

Hi All,

What need to use this year (FY 2018-19) bcoz Other professional services n.e.c. ............ 16019 is not available this time.

Can anyone help?

14001 I am using, which is software development