Itr form related query

ITR 399 views 7 replies

I am a salaried professional and I changed my job in FY 2015 and joined new organisation. I received Gratuity & Leave Encashment amount from my previous employer. I have below question for ITR

1. Since I have received Gratuity amount which ITR form I need to fill i.e. ITR1 or ITR2 ?

2. Is Gratuity amount taxable? If not, Can I show this income in exempted amount column in ITR.

3. Is Leave encashment amount taxable.

Pushkar

Replies (7)

Both gratuity and leave encashment amount are part of your salary. And, you need to file ITR-1.

About their taxability, it depends on facts. So, you may check section 10 for it, or consult a CA.

U should file ITR 1.

Taxability of Gratuity Amount is depends on amount which u recived and other criteria.

Maximum deduction is 10 lacs.

exemption will be calculated as per formula prescribed in IT Act 1961

See if the links give you required information but you need to spend some time to understand. Otherwise, as suggested by others, please contact a tax consultant.

Gratuity: https://blog.cleartax.in/income-tax-exemption-gratuity/

Leave salary: https://goo.gl/1PG52g

Thanks for your reply. I severed 8 years with my previous employer. Below is amount detail.

Gratuity : Around 3 Lakhs

Leave Encashment : 40,000

What is your last Monthely drwan salary..??

Salary MEans BAsic & DA.

In case of Gratuity

The least of the following is exempt from Tax

• last drawn salary x number of years in employment x 15/26.
  • Rs 10,00,000
  • Gratuity actually received

In Case of Leave Encashment

The least of the following is exempt from Tax

• Cash equivalent of the leave salary in respect of the period of earned leave standing to the credit of employee at the time to retirement.
  • 10 months’ ‘average salary
  • Rs. 3 lakh
  • The amount of leave encashment actually received at the time of retirement.

Thanks everyone for the reply.