I feel ashamed that i am ca

CA 1382 views 3 replies

I was just going thru some of jobs  vacanies posted in CA clubindia for fresh/ experienced CAs and other semi qualified professionals and let me tell you that I felt ashamed being CA .. The practising CAs are devaluing the worth and value of this profession . They are offering salaries of around 1lac to semi qualified professional and 2 to 3 lacs to freshers and experienced CAs . How can they be ruthless to there professional members.   By offering such pittance to there fellow members what they mean that the fresh CA are worth this much ? . This is professional site but the advertisements are totally UNPROFESSIONAL.

Are our existing members reponsible for this mess????? Do they deserve too be called professionals?????.. what direction they are giving to our newly qualified members ???? Have they become biggest obstacle in growth of freshers ...

After seeing these  job vacancy advvertisement which parent  would tell his child  to do CA .... If members of our profession would not respect us than what we can expect from people from other profession.

To be honest I feel ashamed that I one of the CA  a small member of this CA family

Replies (3)

Dear Vishal

I would like to say that the salaries mentioned in Caclubindia are not accurate. Very recently my friend has come across an opportunity which is posted as CTC - 1.5 lac to 3 Lac . After calling them he found that the package to be 6 Lacs.

yes there are some small audit firms that pay > 3 lacs . But this is not an issue to feel panicky.

5 years down the line, all the passouts would be in a very good position.

Be patient over this short term crisis.

If you feel opportunties not knocking your door, try some alternatives like applying for practise and taking coaching classes ; joining with a local audit firm ; doing any other value added courses etc.

Openings are always there, they just need to be properly regulated and organised regarding which our Stupid ICAI always fails ..    

Totally agree with learned member Amit Modi. Very very wise analysis.

If you feel opportunties not knocking your door, try some alternatives like applying for practise and taking coaching classes ; joining with a local audit firm ; doing any other value added courses etc.

Openings are always there, they just need to be properly regulated and organised regarding which our Stupid ICAI always fails ..    

In today’s time ICAI membership only is not enough. For getting quick job after receiving ICAI  membership following practical things are necessary:

1. More than basic understanding of accounting
  2. Good knowledge of Tally, SAP, ERP, IFRS, MIS working environment.
  3. Understanding of working as a finance part
  4. Good and practical knowledge of Taxation
  5. Positive attitude and patience.

Kindly appreciate if you are a new CA and have no knowledge of Tally or SAP or Taxation, then tell me why should I recruit you? You are good for nothing for me.

Recently we had recruited 2 people (non CA but with good knowledge of SAP and ERP) in our finance deptt. at a package of 3.6 and 4.8 lacs P.A. and both were chosen over Chartered Accountants, having no knowledge of SAP and ERP.  

It is high time for us to understand the fact that membership of ICAI and ICSI is no guarantee of good paying job. So for a better career it is must to focus on good articleship. Also take note of demand and supply factor. New CAs are keep coming so it is imp to present something extra for recruitment.

This all fuss is created because of a bit less compensation offered to professionals. As per my experience still membership of ICAI and ICSI is a guarantee of good quality job. This job may be a less financially sound job but will surely pave way for long term financial and personal success.

So my suggestion would be along with doing CA keep learning other practical courses like tally, SAP, ERP etc and be an expert of all this for better career.

All the best

I really pity the CA firms who are offering such low salaries. Are these firms worth this much ??..... Today even graduates are getting 20 - 25 K and this kind of salaries they are offering to  CAs . I  guess some action needs to be taken  against these firms the way they are treating there new comers   and breaking there morale