which digits we will choose
rice-1006
basmati-1006
or

rice-3090
basmati-3020
what we do?
Replies (6)
if your turnover less than 1.5 cr last f.y so it is not necessary but if your turnover more than 1.5 and less than 5 cr so 2 digit can be shown if turnover more than 5 cr so 4 digit can be shown.
first 4 digit necessary other are just specified clarity in product

Use the last four digits, i.e. 3090 and 3020, as the taxpayers having an anual turnover of over 5 crores are required to mention 4 digit HSN codes in their returns.

Search and Find HSN Codes, SAC codes & GST Rates of goods and services

Originally posted by : ishika
Use the last four digits, i.e. 3090 and 3020, as the taxpayers having an anual turnover of over 5 crores are required to mention 4 digit HSN codes in their returns.

Search and Find HSN Codes, SAC codes & GST Rates of goods and services

wrong @ ishika ji you can not define by last 4 digit in which chapter take for GSt rate

you always mention first 4 digit of HSN if your last FY turnover exceed Rs. 5 cr.

Yes, you are right about that. I must have confused this with something else. Dealers with turnover above 5 crores are required to use the first 4 digit of the HSN codes for their respective goods.

16 June 2026
Sr. Associate / Assistant Manager | TAS / FDD

Boutique Investment Bank & Transaction Advisory Firm

Gurgaon

25 June 2026