Gifting money to Niece

Others 793 views 6 replies

Hello experts, kindly guide me.

I want to transfer Rs. 10 lakh to my niece bank account and convert that amount into an FD and gift it to her. This is from the perspective of preparation for her marriage in next 2-3 yrs. Please enlighten me on the tax implications on my / my niece. What type of documents do I need to prepare to make this a legitimate gift.

regards,

Somu

Replies (6)
No tax implications on both..u need to prepare gift deed

hello Horizon Learning

Since relative covers "d.Brother or sister of either of the parents of the individual", will there be still some tax implications on my niece on the amount transferred ?

Niece - She is not under the definition of relatives.
So, Tax is applicable in the gift.

Thanks Mr. Raja P M ji.

Can you pls clarify in light of this defination of relative "d.Brother or sister of either of the parents of the individual" whether Niece will still not be considered as relative ?

Gifting any money to anyone within the exceptions of sec 56(×) (2)
@ Mr Somu,

d.Brother or sister of either of the parents of the individual" ..

It's mean the individual's parents brother or Sister...

Brother or sister of father...

Brother or sister of Mother...