Forgot to officially reappoint myself as whole time Director for another 5 years - what now?

Amish (General) (340 Points)

15 December 2020  

I have very small Private Limited company with only two family member as Directors.

I am whole time director.

Due to this pandemic - AGM got delayed and I forgot to reappoint myself as whole-time Director for another 5 years (1-4-2020 to 31-3-2025). i.e. forgot to file MR1 and DIR12

So I just wanted to know that just like AGM extension was granted is there any such extension granted for reappointing whole time director?

I read somewhere that there can be penalty of 1 lakh rupees for this. (That is crazy and also worrying for me)

Is there any easy way out for this genuine oversight?

Its a small company with only two directors (one whole time) - AGM will be just a formality thing. I plan to show AGM on 16/12/2020 (but I can prepone or postpone it if required)

Will there be any issue in MGT7 and AOC4 return filing? Because MCA website may not allow my digital signature in annual forms saying that I am not a director? (untill I file DIR12 and MR1)

Thank you in advance,

Amish

Edit: Clarified that I am whole time director