Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Excise Registeration for a New Manf. Business

kamlesh s (Partner) (41 Points)

16 February 2011  

Hello ,

We are about to start a new corrugated box manufacturing unit in Bangalore.

We have registered as an SSI, also registered PAN,TAN, VAT,CST, KS&CE certificates.

We are waiting for our machines to arrive.

No material has been purchased or sold.

We have a copy of our customers purchase order(sample copy)

In their payment they have addes Basic Excise Duty-BED(4%) + Education Cess (2%) + S Cess(1%)+ VAT(5%)

Now from what I have read we don't need to register till we cross 1.4-1.5C turnover (Which we will within 5 months)

But we will not cross 400 lac limit in any year.

So what should the process be like ?

Do we start collecting the BED only after we cross 1.5C or do we keep collecting it throughout?

I'm an engineer and I don't know much about accounting as you can see. :)

Please let me know if you need any more information.

Thank you

13 Replies

Amit Prakash Singh (Accountant) (295 Points)
Replied 16 February 2011

Provisions of General SSI exemption

Exemption Notification for SSI

SSI are eligible for exemption from duty under Notification No. 8/2003-CE dated 1-3-2003. The SSI unit need not be registered with any authority

Eligibility for SSI concession

Unit whose turnover was less that Rs 4 crores in previous year are entitled to full exemption upto Rs 150 lakhs in current financial year. SSI unit can avail Cenvat credit on inputs and input services only after it starts paying duty. However, Cenvat credit of capital goods can be availed even if these were received during period of exemption.

Articles eligible for SSI exemption