English - the way i learn it

Sourav Banerjee MA,MSW (Shabda Bramha) (8842 Points)

20 August 2011  

I hail from a sub-urban area and I studied in a Bengali medium school having English as a second language. And in those days, in a Bengali medium school, a student was not required to study English before reached Class – V. No wonder, I had to struggle hard during my formative years to come to terms with the language.

For these reasons, I can easily put myself in someone’s shoes who is having a torrid time mastering English - the global language. Hence, this humble attempt to share whatever little knowledge I have been able to muster over the years with the members of the CACLUBINDIA. I take this opportunity to convey my heart-felt thanks to EACH AND EVERY MEMBER of this closely neat family, who has, through their selfless endeavour, taken the concept of sharing to an unsurpassable height.

THE ABSOLUTE MUST - I

From reading grammar books to translating passages to toiling hard with précis, numerous methods have been adopted by us – the students – to iron out our weaknesses in the English language. But there’s no denying the fact that VERB and PREPOSITION plays the spoil sport more than any other parts of speech. Necessary, therefore, is

Ø to read these two subject matters again and again, paying particular attention to the CONSTRUCTION of sentences given as examples.

Ø To look for practical examples in whatever resource you come across.

THE ABSOLUTE MUST –II

Second important thing is to build a good VOCABULARY – easier said than done. Each day, I’ll try to post 3 to 5 interesting words/phrases that are either currently in vogue or are worth knowing in somewhat detail (shall stop doing so only in the event of not receiving any response – good or bad).

THE ABSOLUTE MUST –III