Eligibility for vat and/ or service tax

Queries 1799 views 8 replies

Hello

I have a private limited firm and expect the turnover for FY 13-14 as under

a) Supply turnover : 4.5 lacs and

b) Service turnover : 7.5 lacs.

c) Misc (Bank interest etc) : 0.25 lacs.

Presently I do not have VAT or Service Tax registration

Is it necessary for me to apply for VAT No or Service Tax no in above case??

Kindly suggest.

Thanks in anticipation

Replies (8)

there is no need to registration of vat and service tax because(min vat registration >10 lakshs,service tax registration >9 lakshs )but voluntarly we can apply the both registration

Dear Vineet 

what type of business you are operating/?
please explain further more.

Originally posted by : DEVARAPU SREENU
there is no need to registration of vat and service tax because(min vat registration >10 lakshs,service tax registration >9 lakshs )but voluntarly we can apply the both registration

I am from Maharashtra and guess minimum Sales turnover for MVAT here in 5 lacs

We are primarily in services business, but there is a one off Sales turnover this year which is not specifically related to the service business that we are in.

Originally posted by : Vineet
We are primarily in services business, but there is a one off Sales turnover this year which is not specifically related to the service business that we are in.

May I know which type of sevice you are providing?

Originally posted by : karan jit singh

May I know which type of sevice you are providing?

We are in providing installtion of EPABX Networks and the supply items turnover is for Electrical and Furniture fittings.

Hello

I have a private limited firm and expect the turnover for FY 13-14 as under

a) Supply turnover : 4.5 lacs and

b) Service turnover : 7.5 lacs.

c) Misc (Bank interest etc) : 0.25 lacs.

Presently I do not have VAT or Service Tax registration

Is it necessary for me to apply for VAT No or Service Tax no in above case??

Kindly suggest.

Thanks in anticipation

Dear Vineet

I am assuming that

For ST you are complying with secton 67 (1)(iii) of FA,1994, which is amount determined with the STVR,2006 read with rule 2A.

For Service tax :No need to register but there is need if same service provider after exceeding aggregate value of Rs.9 Lacs under section 69(2) read with rule 3 of ST(RSCP) Rules,2005

For VAT : Dealer shall get register in prescribed form as per state Vat Act Provisions and If his turnover in the current year exceeds the taxable quantum. White paper provides Rs. 10 lacs as taxable quantum.

Eg In Delhi this limit has been increased to Rs. 20 lacs in year 2013 for major relief to small dealers and other business community.

In Maharashtra , I think this limit is Rs 5Lacs

Hi all,

We are USA citizens, I like to start a business in India, how can I get TIN n.o and I am an NRI, please do let me know any information & My products are their in USA to get them into India do I need Import licence.