?A professional should be identified by his knowledge, garb and
panache. I believe the new dress code ? blue blazer and tie ? will give
chartered accountants a new identity,? said president of ICAI Sunil
Talati.

A well intentioned but poor idea. Doctors wear white coats and
lawyers may don black ones. But, they work in specific work settings
like hospitals and courtrooms. By ICAI’s own estimation 75,000 of the
1.4 lakh CAs registered with the body work in industry. ie. regular
corporate office. Can you imagine them wearing ‘uniform’??

The remaining 65,000 must be in private practice. But here too, a blue blazer and tie is not going to help ‘market the brand’.

A dress code is merel\ cosmetic, it cannot solve an overall identity crisis.

I have nothing against CAs, despite what you may think after reading
this piece.. I do believe however that the MBA has impacted the CA
profession. CAs have more ‘core skills’ but in a world where
showmanship, branding, soft skills and a macro view seem to matter
more, the CA loses out.

The acid test of a professional’s worth is: do I get the last word?
If a doctor scribbles out medicine X, you take it. If a lawyer advises
defence Y, that’s what is argued in court. If you don’t agree you can
go to another doctor or lawyer. But whichever you finally gets to be
the expert. You have to trust him or her.

With a CA, what happens. He advises. The client may or may not
agree. Or even believe he knows better. CAs are manipulated or coerced
into signing audits they know are false. Inflating or deflating
figures. And so on and so forth.

And this is not just in India. As the Financial Times noted after the Enron scandal:

Over the past five decades, accountants have changed from
watchdogs to advocates and salespersons. Auditing has become one of a
number of services, including consulting and tax advice, in which
accountants “sell” creative tax avoidance and financing structures.

No doubt black sheep exist in medicine and law as well but there the
regulatory body when it comes to accounting is particularly weak. I
have not heard of CAs being ‘unchartered’ for malpractice. If it does
happen, it’s an event so rare and invisible that no one is afraid when
signing off on doctored audit reports.

Again, not to suggest MBAs are highly ethical but that’s a separate story.

As a core skills profession, bound by a charter, CAs need to live up
to high standards to regain their rightful place in the sun. And then,
they won’t need those ties and blazers…

Terribly unsuitable for Indian weather in any case!….

Replies (19)
WHEN DOCTORS OR LAWYERS WEAR DEAR AISHA, UNIFORM WE SAY WAH WAH! SO IS IT WHEN CRICKETERS OR FOOT BALLERS OR ANYBODY ELSE TRY TO LOOK UNIFORM. WHY A CONTROVERSY WHEN CA TRY TO DO SOMETHING.IF IT ADDS ANY VALUE TO THE PROFESSION LET IT BE YAAR. WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM IN LIFE?????
DEAR AISHA, WHEN DOCTORS OR LAWYERS WEAR UNIFORM WE SAY WAH WAH! SO IS IT WHEN CRICKETERS OR FOOT BALLERS OR ANYBODY ELSE TRY TO LOOK UNIFORM. WHY A CONTROVERSY WHEN CA TRY TO DO SOMETHING.IF IT ADDS ANY VALUE TO THE PROFESSION LET IT BE YAAR. WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM IN LIFE?????
Aisha ! Anusha said correctly..'what is your problem ?'. You are not a CA. But speeking at the so called problems of CAs. Dont worry CAs knows better to solve their problems.
well, aisha what you are tring to say is lacking of broader thinking. you are accepting doctors and lawyer in uniform because from initiate you have seen them like this. CAs are always doing the things which are difficult to understand in initial stage for a layman but they are highly success ful and acceptable in socitey with high prestige. secondly, your are talking about malpractice then i would like to tell you my friend that in CA profession least malpractice is there than any other proffession. you read news paper, you will find atleast one case of hareshment to patient by doctors. Morever, i m denig malprectice by CAs it has to be curbed but on the other hand the contribution made by them to nation set off all the things. And, i can suerly say that CAs are not playing with society's trust on them. while in case of doctors and lawyers the situation is reverse. And your are talking about MBA's importance then mind well they importnt i m not refusing it but ultimately any industrialist will come to a CA only for all his financial and taxation issues and it is enoght to overtake an MBA
Dear Aisha, CA is a gdignified profession. ICAI has come out with Blazers. They are very good and reflect dignity. They do not publicise anthing. I agree with our President and the Committee that there should be a dress code. Please do not criticise on such an important issue. We expect future members to support. Good Luck.
As Aisha posted (But she do not endorse the views),
"As a core skills profession, bound by a charter, CAs need to live up
to high standards to regain their rightful place in the sun. And then,
they won’t need those ties and blazers… "

I wanna know that is Doctors are unskilled? Lawyers are unskilled?

U 9 wat m i saying...

DM

SEE THE HEADING , AISHA DO NOT ENDORSE THE CONTENTS OF THE BLOG
Dear Freinds,

Read Between the line,After all, all of You R suppose to,
Aisha clearly said she did not endorse her view.,She only Represented articles from Web and reproduce the same,

One thing I am always saying that registered members with score secured R more dignified in their approach, than merely occasionally comment by the Guest,with having not credibilities stand.

Hence Be Fully aware what writer need to say. Then comment upon.
Don't prove here,Y other professional R ahead to C.A.
Dear Friends, Dress Code is essential to Chartered Accountants. All CAs shall follow the rules and regulations of ICAI in its true letter and spirit..!No matter if some body likes it or not.
Hey guyssss.... wat is thiss.s..i hve specifically said i dont agree with the blog... as professionals we should be ready to accept criticizm in the right spirit and be pro-active and not reactive..hope u understand ..
Dear Aisha, We accept the criticism in the right spirit. But is there the need to criticise? We are not attacking on any person. We respect you and also remember that I had written in the message that I look forward to you as future member. Please do not feel that there is syndicate operating against you. We want to stop unnecessary criticisms. CA is the profession of ticks to correct wrongs. Good Luck.
Aisha is completely right. she has not critise or hurt anyone. she has just posted this news. there is no need to criticise aisha. Prakash popat and sampat jain has understand it.
Ostrich attitude is not correct... i hve been really hurt by comments posted by memberss