Capital gain

Final 394 views 3 replies
Please Suggestme on following facts with relevant section and judicial case laws- Assesse’s immovable property had taken over by central government under law running time being in force . assesse received Compensation of Rs. 2 Lacs in FY 13-14 and Balance compensation of Rs. 6 Lacs will Receivable in next years ( date is not Fixed). Calculate the tax liability of the assess for FY 13 – 14 assuming asseesse is 55 years old and asset is Long term capital asset and assesse is having no other income and Cost of Acquisition/Improvement is Zero
Replies (3)

Full v. of consideration    as per Sec 45(5) Rs. 8 lacs
Less:Indexed cost of acq NIL
Taxable LTCG Rs. 8lacs

If assessee's other incomes(excuding LTCG is less than Basic exemp limit-Rs.2lacs)...Marginal relief in respect of LTCG u/s 112 will be available(assuming the assessee as resident)

Relief in your case = 2lacs#...

. #(Basic exemp-NIL(other incomes)

Taxable LTCG after relief- Rs. 6 lacs @ 20%  

full amount of compensation wil b taxable in f.y 13-14 i.e., 8 lakhs though 6 lakhs yet to b received...year of 1st receipt should b considered for reckoning tax liability..

But assessee will be able to enjoy the benefit of FMV as cost of acquisition as on 1st april 1981. How we can calculate FMV as on 1st april 1981?