Water Charges

259 views 8 replies
Hai...
I had a one doubt the association ( ex: appartments or villas ) is rented is commercial space as shop they collecting monthly rental charges for that shop this charge will attract GST . They are collecting some water charges for that shop my doubt is for that water charges they have to collect GST?? . Thus the water charge will attract GST??
Can anyone please help me in this..
Replies (8)
I think GST is not applicable on water charges

GST will be charged on such water charges since it becomes part of rent.

And even if it is separately billed then also chargeable since no exemption available.

Agree with Altamush zafar ji

Notification No.2/2017-Central Tax (Rate)

Sl No.99 Chapter / Heading / Sub-heading / Tariff item -2201

water is exempted.

per my opinion separate invoice for water will get gst exempt.

If any one is with different view, pl elaborate.

Exemption is available when water sold as goods and for that the person charging water charges must own the goods. In most cases these charges are of the nature of services being provided therefore exemption not available.

18% GST may applicable

Supply of water will be treat as part of maintenance charges and GST need to be charged on Maintenance bill

Yes it should be charged when water charges is included in maintenance invoices