Service Tax Registration done but gross trunover is below 10 lac

Queries 516 views 3 replies

In case Registration under Service Tax in done and gross trunover in below 10 lac. Is it compulsory to charge service tax in invoice??

Please help

Replies (3)
As per Notification No.33/2012-ST, Small service provider(SSP) means a service provider, the aggregate value of taxable services rendered by whom, from one or more premises, does not exceed Rs.10 lakhs in the preceding financial year.

Quantum of Exemption to SSP

SSP is entitled 100% exemption from service tax on aggregate value of taxable services upto Rs.10 lakhs provided during the financial year.

Hence, till the assessee remains SSP, he can claim exemption from service tax on aggregate value of taxable services upto Rs.10 lakhs by aviling the benefit of exemption notification. So whether you are voluntarily registered or mandatorily registered you can avail the benefit of the above prescribed notification provided the conditions spcified therein are being satisfied.

Originally posted by : sunil Kuliyal
In case Registration under Service Tax in done and gross trunover in below 10 lac. Is it compulsory to charge service tax in invoice??

Please help

if the value below 10 lac not required to mention the service tax in invoice

Service Tax is not required to be charged in the Invoice, however the Service Tax Return is required to be filed periodically even if there is nil service tax payable.....It is a common non-compliance reported. Though my suggestions are not directly connected to your query, it may be beneficial for you...