Service tax clarification required

Queries 295 views 1 replies

Kindly clarify my queries. Am the channel partner of mulitple banks and promoting all kinds of loans. I source the clients and get loan through banks/nbfcs.

End of each month banks will be paying me the commission / payouts for the business done deducting 10% tds in my current account.

I hold a proprietor current account and have service tax number.

This year from apr to till date my commission has crossed more than 10L. Do i have to pay the service tax?

Anyway i will be paying the income tax filing at end of year at 30% slab. but still i have to pay the service tax? Kindly clarify.

I have service tax number in my firm name and in that taxable services mentioned as Business Auxiliary Services.

Regards.

Replies (1)

you are required to pay ST.U've correctly classified your service under Business Auxuliary Service.

Please refer Notification No. 33/2012 for your Service Tax liability.But since you are are firm your collection of service tax will be dealt on cash basis as per proviso to rule 6 of STR,1994 for value upto 50 Lakh.

Service Tax and income tax both are independent act.Also this acts has been forced using different entry number given under union list of constitution of india