SAP - a good career option for fresh CAs & semi-qualifids

Others 6670 views 8 replies

I see very few CAs / ICWAs or semi-qualifieds opt for a career in SAP/Oracle consulting. Most of the functional consultants' positions in SAP/Orace are occupied by ordinary Bcoms/Mcoms/MBAs.

Most of the fresh CA's, who have managed to clear the exam. in 1-2 attempts, get good offer from big corporates in campus or subsequently. Some of the multiple attempts CAs manage to get into industries through job portals or through personal networking. Rest of the candidates start their own practice or join some established CA firms.

I feel that SAP consulting is a great career option for the fresh CAs / semi-qualified, who don't have excellent academic record viz-a-viz a carrer in practice or in industries. In ERP field finance professionals work as functional consultants for the Financial Accounting & Manegerial Accounting (FICO) modules. It involves studying the client's business processes and customising the ERP package accordingly.

Most of the SAP consulting companies are based at Hyderabad, Bangalore, Pune and Gurgaon. Some good employers in SAP consulting (e.g.TCS, Infosys, Wipro, IBM, Satyam, L&T, Capgemni etc.) prefer fresh CAs and hire them through regular walk-ins at these ciities. They tain the fresh candidates and may ask the candidate for entering into a 1-2 years bond. The starting salaries may be3 Lacs - 6 Lacs. The candidates with industial (called domain) experience are offered 25%-50% more. After 2-3 years of experience in this field you can expect offers between8 - 12 Lacs with-in India or more for off-shore positions.

If you have undergone the official SAP course (instructor led or eLearning) and managed to clear the SAP certification exam., then the chances of getting good offers are increased. The fees of these courses are3.50L / 2.10L. Check with ICAI for the special discount offer for the CAs & students. Easy finance form some banks is also available for these courses.

Some candidates take unofficial courses offered at Hyderabad and try to get into this field by showing some fake experiences.These kind of candidates initially join some body shopper (the co. which provides candidates to big cos. on contract basis) and after 2-3 years of exprience they manage to enter into any reputed cos. Most of the non-professionals have made ERP career through this route.

The life in SAP consulting is more comfortable in comparision to working in industies or CA firms. Most of the employers have 5 days week. Since most of the implementations projects are outside India, you'll get many chances of getting off-shore projects and can save some good money apart from visiting many foreign locations.

No doubt there are some negative points also. There are frequnet changes in your locations depending on the projects. The health of this business depends on US & European economies. All depends on your outlook and choice.

With best wishes for a rewading career.

Replies (8)

Very informative post. Bookmarked.

Hi Vivek

Thats nice information there

I want to break up the cost and other related details

Training - Siemens - with instructor costs Rs. 275000+ service tax

Exam - First attempt at the end of the training costs - Rs. 30000 + service tax and the next two attempts costs Rs. 35000 + service tax.... 

No. of days training is 19 working days - from morning 9 to evening 5.30.... Normally the exam will be on the 20th day..... 

Ofcourse there is one other way of training - without instructor or online training.... I will not suggest that....

SAP is tougher than CA

1. In CA exam fees is Rs. 2000 max for 6/8 papers for each attempt but in SAP exam fees is Rs. 30000 + service tax.... No room for failure

2. In SAP only 3 attempts are allowed!!!!!

3. In SAP duration of the course is less only 19 days - we have to read 1500 pages + 16 hours online training!!!!

Anyother Information, Just buzz me

Rangarajan Krishnan 

Hi Rangrajan,

Thanks for your comment.

No doubt CA is the cheapest professional course in the World. But the opporutnity cost of CA course is very high for a not-so-brilliant candiate. 90% of the CA passouts take 4-6 years for qualifying the course. 

Those who are not the first attempt passouts, start career at Rs. 3-5 L p.a. So it is lot more sound to take SAP certification after simple graduation and start your career at Rs. 2-3 L p.a. With-in 3 years you can reach at Rs. 8L +.

I don't feel that clearning SAP FI certification is as tough as passing even a single paper of CA Inter exam.

I am CPA Australia qualified and have 18 years of experience in finance & accounts. I am seriously thinking to switch my career in to SAP and thought to seek your opinion. I have basic knowledge on FI module but I am not considering this as an experience for sake my decision making.

I have following questions if any of you able to answer:

1) Given my experience and qualification, what SAP module I should be start with FI, CO or any other module? and is certification must to have?

2) Which institute in India is the best for training and which mode is effective class room or eLearning.
3) How are the job opportunities in India and what level of salary I can expect at the beginning. What type of companies to choose initially to gain a good working knowledge.

4) Do you think my age 40 will have any resistance for my entry in to SAP and first job.

Best Regards,

Indra.

I am student of CA final and tech savvy person. I am desperately willing to get SAP certification I belong to middle class family and wish to support my dad in financial matters. 

Is SAP FI advisable for me? I am willing to do at Seimens Mumbai Instructor led program.

Please guide me....

Thanks & regards

Shruti

hi friends i m ooking for a SAP career in chennai with a nice MNC .......... some body plllllllllllzzzzzz help

hi... if i am a ca with 7-8 trials in final, and if i do sap fi from local institute providing certificate+ 6 month live implementation project.. what are the placement benefit and starting pay i should expect.

plz give ur opinion.

Which is the Best Online SAP Training Institute?

https://www.sevenmentor.com/sap-mm-course-in-pune.php#faq