Requirements to apply for personal loan

Others 732 views 3 replies

Hi friends, i have a query regarding a bank loan.

My friend is running a smalll busines n for the purpose of extension of business he requires Rs. 6 Lakhs ( approx)

he is willing to approach a bank for loan.

Then my query is can he obtain a loan from bank for such purpose???

If so, for which loan shud he apply, i mean Personal loan or Business loan ???

and plz mention what are the requirements need to apply for a Personal / Business Loan.

plzzz friends advise me regarding this............

Replies (3)

In my view, he can take Personal loan rather than taking business loan. Because taking business loan is difficult as he is only small trader. Personal loans given by various banks may range from 5-10lacs which have repayment period ranging from 3-5/7 years. Usually, the documents asked by banks are ID proof, 3 months bank statement, residence proof, guarantor (may be asked by some banks depending on banks criteria, which will be decided based on the amount  of loan asked).

As he is self-employed, they may also ask balance sheet, PL a/c etc. After submitting these, banks will then evaluate the application based on the applicant's repayment capacity, relationship with the bank (if he already have a/c in that bank). They will also check the applicants credit history with the CIBIL. Hope your friend does not have any other loans pending or made default earlier. Check other details with SBI/HDFC/Citibank. Banks usually wont ask the application of borrowed money.

To apply for a personal loan with Kotak Mahindra Bank, you typically need to meet certain requirements. These may include having a stable income source, meeting the minimum age requirement (usually 21-58 years), and providing necessary documents such as ID proof, address proof, income proof, and bank statements. Credit score and employment stability are also important factors considered. It's advisable to check Kotak Mahindra Bank's specific criteria and interest rates before applying. Always ensure you have all required documents ready to expedite the application process smoothly.

Applying for a personal loan typically involves meeting certain requirements set by lenders. Here are common requirements you might need to fulfill:

**1. Credit Score:

• Requirement: Lenders usually require a minimum credit score. The specific score needed can vary by lender and loan type.
  • Tip: A higher credit score generally improves your chances of approval and may help secure better interest rates.

**2. Income:

• Requirement: Proof of a stable income to demonstrate your ability to repay the loan. This can include pay stubs, tax returns, or bank statements.
  • Tip: Some lenders have minimum income requirements, so ensure your income meets these criteria.

**3. Employment Status:

• Requirement: Proof of employment or a reliable source of income. Self-employed individuals may need to provide additional documentation.
  • Tip: Stable employment history can positively impact your loan application.

**4. Debt-to-Income Ratio (DTI):

• Requirement: Your total monthly debt payments divided by your monthly gross income. Lenders often have maximum DTI ratios they accept.
  • Tip: A lower DTI ratio is preferable, as it indicates you have more disposable income to cover loan payments.

**5. Personal Identification:

• Requirement: Government-issued ID (e.g., driver's license, passport) to verify your identity.
  • Tip: Ensure your ID is current and matches the information on your loan application.

**6. Proof of Address:

• Requirement: Documentation to verify your current address, such as utility bills, lease agreements, or bank statements.
  • Tip: Ensure the documents are recent and match the address you provided on your application.

**7. Loan Purpose:

• Requirement: Some lenders may ask for the purpose of the loan. This is more common for secured loans or larger amounts.
  • Tip: Be prepared to explain how you plan to use the loan funds.

**8. Bank Account Information:

• Requirement: A checking or savings account where the loan funds will be deposited and where you will make repayments.
  • Tip: Ensure your account information is accurate to avoid delays in receiving your loan.

**9. Co-Signer (if applicable):

• Requirement: If you have a low credit score or insufficient income, a co-signer with better financial standing may be required.
  • Tip: A co-signer agrees to repay the loan if you default, so ensure they understand their responsibility.

**10. Additional Documentation:

• Requirement: Some lenders may request additional documents, such as proof of assets or references.
  • Tip: Check with the lender for any specific documentation they may require.