Rectification rights transferred to ast 2015-16

2965 views 8 replies

Hi All,

I have filed my IT Returns for 2015-16 myself and made a mistake. I recevied a letter/ intimation for ITD in August 2015 claiming demand for more than 1 lac. I have raised a rectification request for making the correction. After almost 10 months the status is now updated to "Rectification rights transferred to AST". I visited ITD and met the ward officer incharge. I was informed that they have not yet recevied rectification rights for FY2015-16 (unable to update in system).

Hence eager to know by when can ITD get rights to rectify the returns of FY2015-16? 

Kindly advice.

Thanks in Advance.

Replies (8)

Hi Prafull,

You can check your demand status after login into your account at ITD website. Further, you can also send a response towards your outstanding demand. Assuming, you have filed your return for FY 2015-16 through online mode.

For further guidance, you can send your query to taxonlineguide @ gmail.com

Thanks Pooja.

I have filled my returns online for FY 2015-16 last year hence recevied the demand. Also in Aug-15, i raised a rectification request and since last month the status is shown as "Rectification rights transferred to AST".

Even AST are not able to rectify my returns as they have not yet recevied rigths to rectify the cases for FY2015-16. Hence would like to know by when AST gets rights to rectify the returns.

Thanks!

After login into account at ITD , would you able to see "Submit" button under "Response to outstanding demand".

In case, you want me to check your account , please mail me your details at taxonlineguide @ gmail.com

Thanks Pooja.

You are suggesting the procedure to file the rectification. I have already submitted rectification request last year.

When i login to ITD and navigate to EFile -> Efile Returns/ Forms, the status for FY2015-16 is show as "Rectification request transfered to AST"

Thanks!

Hi Prafull,

No, I am not suggesting you to file the recitification. Infact, you can submit online response to your assessing officer to nullify the demand in the return provided you have an option to file the online response which you need to check.

Thanks Pooja.

I will check on this. Also when i navigate to Efile -> Refund/ Demand Status,  for FY2015-16 the status is shown as "Contact jurisdictional assessing officer".

Please provide me your email id.

In assessment year of2016-2017, i filled the income tax return wrongly. I put the amount 58701 rupee under section 89 where it should be under section 90 as per from 16 ( since i have spent two months in Netherlands) . 

As a result i got intimation 143(1) of tax mismatch and 64980 rupee had been claimed otherwise to update 10 E form. 

I disagree the demand and mention that 10E from is not applicable since this is not a arear amount. 

Later in 2018 , i realize my mistake and corrected in rectification request under section 154. 

but instated of CPC corrected it , they send the rectification right transfer to AST. 

till then it is pending with Assessing office and did not received further response from them. 

However recently getting SMS under section 220 that the interest will be claimed. 

i would like to know if section 220 application while the rectification pending with AST.