>
> 2. Professional qualification chahiye. CA is a good one -- nothing
> stops you from doing an MBA later.
>
> 3. You genuinely like accounting. It's what you've always dreamt of
> doing in life.
>
> As few 17 or 18 year olds know what they want in life, Reason 3 is
> rare. But Reasons 1 and 2 are perfectly valid.
>
> If lucky, you may find that you enjoy the subjects and become an
> excellent CA. If not so lucky but smart, you may not like what you
> study but still become a competent CA. If neither smart nor lucky,
> you will probably remain a frustrated 'trying to clear my CA'
> student.
>
> The perception is that the CA success story is 'all or nothing'.
> Either you clear the exam -- rather, three different exams -- or
> you get left behind. Whereas, in the case of an MBA, while only a
> few make it to the top 10 institutes, there is always the hope of
> the next 10 and then the next 10.
>
> However, things are changing on that front. In a recent interview, T
> N Manoharan, president of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of
> India, stated the pass percentage has risen dramatically in recent
> years. 'Gone are the days when the pass rates were 2-3 percent. Now,
> if you consider both groups at the final level, these are at 15-20
> percent. In a single group, it is often as high as 30 percent,' he
> said.
>
> What's more, 83 percent of the 7,445 candidates who passed out in
> 2005 were absorbed by industries. Out of a total number of 1.3 lakh
> CA professionals, 10,000 are settled abroad. Of the rest, 55,000
> were employed in industries, and the rest were practitioners. ICAI
> believes there is a requirement of 40,000 more CA professionals in
> the country.
>
> In fact, it does appear that ICAI has woken up and taken the
> challenge posed by the 'lure of the MBA' seriously. A new syllabus
> will be launched this year, and the duration of the course condensed
> to four years.
>
> That's still two years more than an MBA though!
>
> ICAI is also undertaking marketing itself aggressively. For example,
> by screening films at schools 'to sensitise teachers, students and
> parents to the importance of the profession.'
>
> Most importantly, ICAI has started offering 'campus placements.' Not
> only is this great for newly certified students, it's a good revenue
> earner for the institute. Like premier MBA institutes, ICAI charges
> recruiting companies -- Rs 1.2 lakhs is the going rate for 'Day 1'
> at the Mumbai and New Delhi centres.
>
> Top recruiters during the February/ March interviews were Progeon
> (which offered 163 jobs), Gecis (160), Tata Sons (68) and Reliance
> Industries (63). The average salary would be Rs 4 lakhs while the
> highest salary offered was Rs 12 lakh per annum.
>
> But it didn't make headline news, unlike IIM salaries...
> The basic problem
>
> ICAI can shout itself hoarse over the great new career opportunities
> a CA degree brings -- and rightly so. But it is impossible to fight
> the MBA. At best, it can hope to attract some of the very bright
> students who become CAs first and MBAs later.
>
> The very nature of the profession -- exacting, detailed and dealing
> with numbers will put off many students. And there is nothing that
> anyone can do about it.
>
> That is all I meant when I made my original statement -- that CA can
> be a boring profession. That does not imply that all those who
> become CAs are either bored -- or boring.
>
> But just like you can't become a doctor if you faint at the sight of
> blood, you can't become a CA if you are unable to make sense of
> numbers. Realising this simple truth would save many young people a
> lot of wasted time and effort.
>
> Karan Johar believes 'shaadi ki buniyaad sirf beinteha mohabbat honi
> chahiye� ' I believe the same applies to one's career. The only
> difference is, if you love your profession as much as Abhishek loves
> Rani Mukerji in KANK, it will lovingly embrace you in return!
Replies (5)
Reality told in very simple way
Now students should think before jumping into this profession
Reality
first do let us know r u a CA ?
If yes pls correct your figures........
if not then pls don't comment anything

Miss.... whatever

pls do you homework again and then come back .
CAs are backbone of a company
MBAs just show off reality is blank ....exceptions are always there no doubt
one out of 10 will be good

and you need guds to do CA.
As its consider as one of the toughest exam in india as per TOI

Good bye
I TOTALLY AGREE WITH SUNIL........

I THINK THAT SHE IS A MBA AND IS AT A COMPLEX OF CAs.

MBAs are only the stuff to be showed and have nothing in them.....the real knowledge centre lies -as always at -CAs..............

I have seen many cases -where the boss is a MBA - but is dependent on the knowledge areas -on the CAs.........why???????------coz these fools spent their 2 years in making presentations and meetings ----as they know they cant replace the knowledge centres,so they have accepted a place as a presenter /manager -so as not to involve any HARD CORE KNOWLEDGE.........

FIRST DO CA AND THEN tell -who is who!!!!!!!!!
Are komal ji CA ko gharwali achi milti hai
[color=green]My dear friend,

Reasons for doing CA are very funny and the comparison with MBA looks bad.

Chartered Accountancy is a great and sacred profession which can not be comparable with any other course.  It is having an unique identity and pride in our country in particular and the world in general. Professions pride will be the inspiration to individuals and the individuals independence is the professions pride.

As a professioanl u enjoy the respect and discharge the duties sacredly to the benefit of the nation.  Profession occupied primary for CA and employment will be secondary. u r comparing the secondary aspect of CA with MBA forgetting its primary object.

Whatever may be the reason, however it is convincing u r not equivalent to the successful professional winner. Can u compare a winner with a loser.
Coming to the looser part and can u compare a looser with another looser. It is obsolate.  

Employment or job is secondary for a professional and, now a days it is gaining momentum and occupying importance in the individuals minds who are newly coming to the profession. A professional who joined in service will loose his professional importance and will be comparable with another employee who is not a professional at  all. The professional qualification will be a pass port upto the interview Board and the rest will be decided on various other factors.  

Hence, My dear friend, I will tell u a small example which reveals u where u are. The drop of water falling on a hot iron will vanish without any identity and the same drop falls on a lotus leaf will glitter like a pearl. The same drop falls on pearl shell will become pearl and will be of much value. Now u r in the third example and going to be a pearl and joining with other pearls to become a beautifyl necklce in the neck of the Indian Nation(Barath Matha).

with regards,

Y S RAO. [/color]