Incorrect claim u/s 143(1)(a) (ii)

912 views 3 replies
We have receipt the receipt Income tax notice as per following details:

The amount entered in Schedule SI are inconsistent with the corresponding amount entered in sch CG/Sch OS

Amount in ITR Rs 84450
Amount as computed Rs 168900
varaince Rs 84450

please guide how to reply this notice...

Thank you
Replies (3)
This Mistake happened in which Financial Year! If it will happen in the year Ended 31-03-19 you have to file rectification u/s 154 at income tax India e filing website after the mentioned corrections made.
Dear Anju

i can assist you in writing reply. kindly semd me the notice and itr filed copy.

You can also write to me with further details at sthayin @ gmail.

1. Sec 143(1)(a)(ii) relates to the incorrect claims made apparent from the information provided in the IT return. 
2. That means there is a direct contradiction with respect to the amount you have entered in the SI (income taxable at special rates) like Capital gains or Other source income. 
3. So, if there is a contradiction with these columns then the above notice will be sent. Make sure to recompute and see whether the claim made by the department is correct. 
4. Based on the above computation accept, partially accept or reject the claim made by the department. 
5. According to the above decision, proceed. 
Please correct me if the above solution has an alternative view.