House Property Rental Income

Tax queries 207 views 3 replies

Hello -
Need your help!. I have tried searching online for answers, and the more I read the more confusing it gets.

I have flat that I rented out for Rs. 20,000 / month. Is the yearly rental income subject to tax or are there any exemptions? 

The reason I ask, I read an article that says " rental income will be tax-free if the Gross Annual Value (GAV) is less than ₹ 2.5 lakh." Is this correct? Should I include or exclude this rental income on my tax return?
Please advice.

Thank you!

Replies (3)

1)As per the income tax Act , your yearly rental income received or receivable ( Annual value) is subject to tax .
2) you will get deduction of Municipal taxes paid for said property, during the previous year, and standerd deduction up to 30% of the Annual  Value.

3) refer section 22 ,23 and 24 of the income tax act .  

Yearly rental income is subject to tax.. it has tobe added with your total income
I think 2.5 lacs must be the basic exemption limit which was referred to in the articles not for house property alone
Article is correct or not you have to apply Income tax Act .