Help - got a letter from income tax asking information

Notification 3182 views 17 replies

I have received a letter from IT department of my own city stating that the department is in posession of information that I have entered in to financial transaction(s), as per details given below without quoting my PAN.
And the details given just below that line are around 15 Lakhs of Cash Deposit in FY 13-14 and assessment year 14-15.

I have been asked to furnish a source of cash deposit in my account. However I have not done any kind of this transaction mentioned in year 13-14. I mean I had a good turnover in that period but never deposited that much of cash in my account.

1) How can I furnish a reply?

2) Is it possible to ask what information they are in posession of?

3) The time limit to reply is within 7 days after receiving this lettter, is there anyway to present an application to the local IT officer to extend the date?

Note: The letter came from local IT office and there is signature of local IT officer below, is it even a genuine letter or just mischeif of someone just to grab some money?

Replies (17)
1. You may have deposited more than 10 lakh in saving account or more than 50 lakh in current account in the entire year.

2. Furnish the return of income and only after that ask for the details they have , so you can reply and provide details.
Login into your income tax account and see if such compliances are generated in your case so as to verify genuineness of the notice.

Its Not One Time Deposit . If Total Cash Deposit Exceeds 10 lacs then you are queried by IT Department

Originally posted by : Akash
Its Not One Time Deposit . If Total Cash Deposit Exceeds 10 lacs then you are queried by IT Department

Yes I have not done this kind of cash deposit even in total.

Originally posted by : Raj C Doshi
Login into your income tax account and see if such compliances are generated in your case so as to verify genuineness of the notice.

How can I get my account login details, my ITR is filed by my income tax lawyer, he intentionally keeps passwords of all his clients and never passes them.

Ask him the password or go to him and tell him to represent your case before the officer by giving him the notice.

Thanks Raj for helping me, but he is definitely going to ask me money even if I have not done this kind of transaction(s). Is there anyway to validate the autheticity of this letter?

No other way. Thanks

Hello Raj, I got access to my income tax account and there is no such compliances generated in my case. Is it still authentic?

I suggest you only to submit your income tax return and ask for information in their possession. I went through your query again only to realise that they have information on cash deposit in your name without quoting PAN. Hence, they have sent you letter based on the name and address details in the bank account given by the bank to the income tax department. I think you should not go on your own rather keep a professional in between to handle your case. There are many permutation combination as to what could have
....as to what could have caused such thing. eg. You are having joint account with someone OR Someone would have used your documents to open bank account in your name to put his illegal money or any old bank account opened in your name when you would be minor by your mother father which they are using but not known to you. So it is a risky matter I think if the details with the department are correct. So Please take help of a CA or Lawyer.
Google Non pan transaction compliance manual and you will get a PDF. Understand the steps and talk to your lawyer who files your income tax return. Submit response only after due consultation.
Please be quick in this matter. If you are at fault, then
Please be quick in this matter. If it your undisclosed income , then you may be able to apply for Income disclosure scheme. last date is 30th Sept. So meet the person who handles your income tax tomorrow itself so you can sort out this matter and if required you can take shelter under income disclosure scheme.