Gst on rental income

213 views 5 replies

I need a suggestion from the experts in the community. 

If I am having a rental income from commercial spaces which is less then 20lac  and on other hand I am having a business too under proprietorship (REGISTERED UNDER GST). Then will i have to pay GST on the rental income?

PLEASE NOTE> Here my business is just a startup in e-commerce with a turnover of 5lac. As its a interstate supply therefore i have registered for GST. 

-RONAK

Replies (5)
yes, u need to collect & pay gst as renting,leasing of jmmovable property is supply of service if. it is commercial in nature

But i have read somewhere that you are liable to pay gst if its exceeds 20lac. 

Liable to register under GST is Rs.20lacs. If registration has been obtained, then the limit of 20lacs is not applicable and hence gst has to be collected and paid.

Ok, Thanks for your answers. 

Is there any way to save it. Because its like As i have registered for GST for my business, I just come under the neck. 
It's quite disappointing for a startup community.  

I am working education instution (PUC) it will run by society there paid rent more than Rs.60 lakhs, then it will apply GST registration or not, please inform to us.