GIFTTAXQUERY

549 views 3 replies

CAN I MAKE AGIFT OF RS ONE LAKH EACH TO MY OWN BROTHER"S SON &HIS WIFE  ON THE OCCASION OF THEIR MARRIAGE.

WILL IT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE IF MAKE THE SAME TO MY BROTHER ON THE SAME DAY INSTEAD OF THEIR WARDS.

WHAT ABOUT TAXABILITY ON BOTH OCCASIONS.

PLEASE DO ADVICE.

Replies (3)

Firstly, I don't know but I felt after reading your query that there is cofusion regarding in whose hands the gifts are taxable.

Gifts given by you will be taxable in the hands of recipient.(if at all they are taxable) - So no tax liability in ur hands...

Now coming to ur specific cases -

1) Gifts of any amount received on the ocassion of marriage of the individual are exempt. -As per this clause the sum will be exempt in the hands of ur nephew & his wife.

2) Giftsof any amount made to specified relatives (Brother is one of them) are exempt irrespective of the ocassion - As per this clause the gift will not be taxable in the hands of ur Brother.

agree withamir sir

amir bhai always rite

Featured 24 June 2026
HEAD - AUDIT AND TAXATION

A R JADHAV AND ASSOCIATES

Mumbai