Economically Weaker Section

Ayush (Executive ) (3957 Points)

07 February 2023  

Economically Weaker Section (EWS) are defined as those individuals or families whose annual income is below a certain specified limit and are eligible for certain reservations and benefits in government jobs and educational institutions.

The Economically Weaker Section (EWS) is eligible for a reservation of 10% in direct recruitment in civil posts and services in the Government of India. This reservation is applicable to individuals who belong to the EWS category and are not covered under the existing reservation schemes for Scheduled Castes (SCs), Scheduled Tribes (STs), and Other Backward Classes (OBCs).

Persons who are not covered under the scheme of reservation for SCs, STs and OBCs and whose family has gross annual income below Rs 8 lakh are to be identified as EWSs for benefit of reservation. Income shall also include income from all sources i.e. salary, agriculture, business, profession, etc. for the financial year prior to the year of application.

Also persons whose family owns or possesses any of the following assets shall be excluded from being identified as EWS, irrespective of the family income:-

  • 5 acres of agricultural land and above;
  • Residential at of 1000 sq ft. and above;
  • Residential plot of 100 sq. yards and above in notified municipalities;
  • Residential, plot of 200 sq. yards and above in areas other than the notified municipalities.