Gst composition query for business and service provider

205 views 9 replies

One of my client doing business of  Mfg Cake and Pasteries Shop is Regular GST Return Filer and he also reciept Industrial premises Rent yearly 10 lakh and above paying RENT GST @ 18% .  He want to opt for Composition whether it is possible for business Return and Rent Receipt.

Please reply.

Replies (9)
service turnover can be upto 10% of Turnover of preceding year business turnover of shop...kindly check the same with your last year turnover limit and take the registration in composition
composition facility for service is available only if turnover is below 50L
if your total turnover, I.e. from sale of cake and pastries and from rent is below 50L, then you can opt for composition scheme.
Still check out about this in details.
Also note that he might be charging 18% GST over and above rent income, but if opted for composition then he shall have to pay GST @ 6% and he cannot charge the same from tenant. So he might end up paying GST from the pocket.

Thanks for your reply

1. My Clients (Proprietorship) have Shop of Cake manufacturing, having Turnover 18 lakh yearly.  While registering in July 2017  from VAT to GST we have registered as Cake Manufacture and for RENT Income as a Service Provider in Single GST No.

2. Now to avail the benefit of Composition Tax ( Mfg @ 2%) can I convert this GST No. to composition and for RENT Income (above 10 lakh yearly) can I register new GSTIN no. for service provider.  and charge Rent Receipt @ 18%

Please guide me, Valuable reply appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Yes, a person can take multiple registration for different businesses.
Take new GST registration as service providers and disclose rental income in the same.

Thanks for your reply and quick response

welcome
is it really possible to have seperate status of gst no. like one unit as regular and the other unit as composition under the same pan???....😮
I guess it must be possible.
Still take others experts advise as well
okay because i read it somewhere that it will not be possible.........