rental income

460 views 23 replies
I have three properties which are let out
1. commercial property -gst collected and paid
2. residential - rental income less than 3lac per annum - should I collect GST and pay?
3. half commercial and half residential- rental income less than 10lacs should I collect GST and pay?

please help me
Replies (23)
Residential property doesn't attract gst nd Commercial property subject to gst
I want the clarity in Q1.
What is the meaning of GST collected and paid...?
1st property is fully commercial and per annum rent he pays to all the partners together is around 65 lac so he pays GST as a part of rent we pay it to govt
Then why you ask 3rd question. Bcoz, already you are liable under GST then the another 1/2 commercial property income fall in GST tax.. So, You ll be calculate the (3) income under GST...
The residential income not under GST. Bcoz, it's exempted. But, you can show it your books of accounts for using Income Tax purpose....

(My ans is the property is one hand/owner/company)
so you mean to say just cause one of the property rental crosses the limit of 20lac I need to collect tax from other property even if it doesn't reach the limit of 20lac per annum
one more doubt is the same three properties are held by my brother but his total per annum rental income doesn't cross the limit of 20lac per annum, as his share is lesser dies he also have to collect and pay GST?
in whose name the GST is registered for 1 st property if it is under the name firm holding 1 st property then the amt which your brother gets will not be covered under GST seperately at his individual capacity
(so you mean to say....)
First of you think, One property or more than one property is not a matter. A Assessee get income from Commercial property and any other business / service turn over above 20lakhs. Then he ll fall under GST. After his all income under GST then he ll be collect GST and pay it to Govt....
(one more doubt is the....)
If his turn over less than 20lakhs no need registration under GST.
The Turn over is not only rental income. It's overall income. In case he any other business. Also calculate the business income and the rental income. Both calculation is less than 20lakhs no need registration. Above 20lakhs registration mandatory....
Business income will not be considered in the limit of 20 lacs for individual capacity as it doen't covered under definituon of taxable supply under gst act so only those income which attract gst at his individual capacity will be considered for th threasehold of 20 lacs
In this case they are charging and colecting GST on 1 st property so there must be regestration in any name and if it is in the name of his brother then he compulsarily have to charge GST on the 3 rd property irrespective of level of supply
What you mean Mr Momin.,
Why not consider both income from Business and Commercial rental as threshold limit...?
(In this case they are charging and colecting GST on 1 st property so there must be regestration in any name and if it is in the name of his brother then he compulsarily have to charge GST on the 3 rd property irrespective of level of supply)
YES I SAID IT EXACTLY IN MY 2ND REPLY...
Income from business i.e. profit from entity other than properitorship is not considered as taxable supply under GST thats why it should not be added to other income of the person at his individual capacity