Capital gain tax on property sale

Tax planning 154 views 3 replies

I booked residential property in 2015made some advance payment and got allotment letter on making advance payment . The position of flat will be given in march 2021. The balance payment of 40 lacs is to be made before I get possesion / the builder makes sale deed iny name
I sold my existing (old) property (which was purchased in 2007)in December 2020. Capital gain on this old property which was sold in dec.2020 works out to be 30 lakhs. please guide can I get the exemption / benefit. Also inform what will be the date of purchase of new property date of allotment which is dated 2015 Ordate of sale deed which will be march 2021
Thanks in anticipation

Replies (3)
You can get the exemption benefit u/s 54
date of agreement to sell is the date of purchase

Is allotment/booking date or date of registry considered for capital gain exemption under section 54?

Under section 54 only such property will be exempt which are purchased prior to 1 year before the date of sale or within 2 years from the date of sale. Date of registry shall be taken