An Inefficient Chartered Accountant !

A. Joseph Arputharaj (Chartered Accountant) (158 Points)

01 May 2008  

Yesterday, I received a call from one of my clients, alleging me INEFFICIENT !!

I am a Chartered Accountant, having a decent clientele ! (Those include some International NGOs). All my clients are satisfied with my service...... All went well till the Income Tax Department issued a circular (No. 5/2007).

Going by the spirit of the circular and the promise it made to accord priority to returns that are filed electronically, I resorted to file all my clients' annual tax returns electronically.

After all, I never suspected the promise made by the Government of India ! I made a mistake by not taking the cue from the Local Income Tax office when they refused to accept and acknowledge the ITR-V, and filed them after teaching the Local Assistant Commissioner that their department has made a leap by introducing such facility and that they have a portal and their portal accepts e-returns and provides a verification form and that ............!!!! (Note: AC insisted on a copy of circular 5/2007)

After they started to accept ITR-V, I thought all went well !!!

Now I have a new problem, REFUND !!

I innocently transferred the message by the above circular and made my clients believe that their returns will be process in priority to manually filed returns. Now I am in Problem !

All those who filed their returns manually have received their refunds. The pity is I am not even able to find out my clients' refund Status.

I called the superbly acronymed ASK to verify the refund status, they just said, ASK your AO ! When I ASKed AO, he said 'you did not file your returns here, how do you expect us to respond to you ? He was perfectly correct, wasn't he?