Start writing a blog, now.

ajith (Article) (293 Points)

18 March 2012  

Start writing a Blog, now.

About Me: I’m a final student undergoing articleship at an average-sized firm in Thrissur, Kerala. Apart from CA, I love making-art and reading. I blog at www.artvsaccounting.tk.

This article is organized into following sections:

1. What the heck is a blog?

2. Me?.. Write a Blog?.. Kidding Me?

3. But what should I write about?

4. OK, how can I get started?

5. Then what?

So, here we go!

“What the heck is a blog?”

Silly question, but here’s my answer for the sake of completeness:

A blog is very much similar to our work-diary (or any diary for that matter). Each entry is dated. An entry itself can contain text, pictures and videos. Normally, readers would be able to comment their views on an entry.

The entries of a blog appear in reverse chronological order, meaning the most recent ones appear first. Depending on what it is about, a blog may be updated daily, weekly, monthly, or at varying frequencies.

Take a look at some example blogs: #1, #2, #3.

“Me?.. Write a Blog?.. Kidding Me?”

No, I’m not kidding.

Since you have accessed the internet, clicked through links to arrive at this article, and then begun reading it, I assume that you can read & write in English, and operate a computer. This makes you more than qualified to be a blog-author. You don’t need to be an expert of the English language—if you can express your ideas in simple words, you’re all set. Of course, the more English-loving of us have some obvious advantage.

Why should you write a blog? The reasons are many- you can publish your ideas with zero censoring; people can understand and appreciate you more; it’ll serve as an online record that you can refer to years from now; you can monetize if your blog gets popular to earn some pocket money; and most importantly, it’s fun!

Now you might be thinking:

“But what should I write about?”

Every person has a story to tell.